You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Customer reviews

My Kitchen Compact Bread Maker
My Kitchen Compact Bread Maker
4.5 stars out of 5 based on 77 reviews.

Showing reviews 1 - 20 of 77

Our lunchtime treat!by Kathryn

5 stars out of 5

My Kitchen Compact Bread Maker

I was nervous buying my first bread machine, but I need not have worried. With little storage space available and four adults to feed, I wondered if the loaf produced would be too small to justify the space taken in my cupboard. Not so. One loaf makes four rounds of sandwiches (including crusts), or four chunky pieces of bread to go with soup, and some left over for toast. The paddle stays in the bread for me. Hooking it out isn't an issue. I use a nylon spatula to slide around the tin to help release. I have made bread by hand, but I find this much more convenient. The bread is delicious.

Published 10 Apr 2014

A wonderful little machineby Elaine

5 stars out of 5

My Kitchen Compact Bread Maker

Absolutely perfect for my needs (two people). The bread is delicious and it stays fresh too, even though there are no preserving agents in the recipe. One caveat and one hint: Be aware that if you press the wrong button, there's no going back and you have to let the machine run its course. Not even switching it right off will re-set it. A useful hint: I've discovered that using sunflower or rapeseed oil is much better than the olive oil suggested in the recipe book - the bread a little lighter and comes out with a much better taste.

Published 09 Apr 2014

Compact Bread Makerby Janette

5 stars out of 5

My Kitchen Compact Bread Maker

I have always wanted to make bread but never quite got round to it for time reasons. I love the ultra fast programme and am delighted the machine is a doddle to clean. One gripe - the measuring cup is a let down as it is SO HARD to read the divisions. Lakeland could you not sort this out with your supplier please? A bright contrasting colour and with marker graduations would make the whole package perfect...if you do please let me know I'd willingly trade mine in. Otherwise 10 out of 10 for an excellent compact machine. Anne.

Published 09 Apr 2014

A note from the team: Thank you for placing your review.We've passed on your comments on the measuring cup to the buyer.

A fantastic machineby Mrs Johnston

5 stars out of 5

My Kitchen Compact Bread Maker

I am absolutely delighted with this wonderful bread maker. Made most of the recipes and several from another bread machine book. All came out well shaped and excellent tasting. Haven't got it out paddle free yet, but the hook works well without much destruction to the loaf. An excellent buy for an 81 year old neighbour and family are delighted with all the tastings.

Published 26 Mar 2014

Perfect Breadby Gill

5 stars out of 5

My Kitchen Compact Bread Maker

This bread maker was bought as a gift from our daughter and son in law and what a perfect gift it is. Perfect for a couple as the size of the loaf is just what is needed. The bread maker is small and compact and sits nicely in a corner on the work surface. The instructions are easy to follow and actually do not have a negative thing to say about it. Would highly recommend it.

Published 18 Mar 2014

Brilliant machineby Eric

5 stars out of 5

My Kitchen Compact Bread Maker

Absolutely brilliant. We make two preffered types of basic loaf every alternate day. The only complaint is the recipe for basic loaf. A tablespoon of sugar is way too much. We don't like our bread sweet. So I add less that a teaspoon of sugar and then add about one and a half teaspoons of yeast. - A far healthier option too!

Published 14 Mar 2014

our daily breadby Nichola

5 stars out of 5

My Kitchen Compact Bread Maker

This is a fantastic bread making machine. We live on our narrowboat and find it so useful. Fresh daily bread and the most delicious choccy cake. Thank you. It's a must buy

Published 10 Mar 2014

Can't seem to bake an edible gluten free loaf, any suggestioby Mrs kenny

1 stars out of 5

My Kitchen Compact Bread Maker

I've now baked 4 gluten free loaves and they have all been inedible. Using the recipe that came with the breadmaker the bread was like a very dry, sweet cake and the next one was soggy in the middle but if it had been cooked any longer it would have been overcooked on the outside. Any ideas? We bought this product specifically to bake gluten free bread.

Published 10 Mar 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for the review. I'm sorry to hear of the difficulties you're having, I'll be in touch shortly.

Using spelt flourby Sheila Jones

4 stars out of 5

My Kitchen Compact Bread Maker

I have had the compact bread machine for a number of months and am very happy with it. I haven't managed to produce a loaf without the paddle remaining inside, but the bread is tasty and that is what counts. I have bought Spelt flour but am not sure what programme to use for this. Can anyone help? The instructions on the flour packet suggest taking it out at the dough stage and finishing in the oven. Being lazy, I'd like the machine to finish the job!

Published 08 Mar 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for the review and taking the time to speak to me on the phone. I'm sorry but the compact bread maker isn't suitable for use with spelt flour.

Top Bananaby S

5 stars out of 5

My Kitchen Compact Bread Maker

This is one of the best bits of kitchen equipment that I have bought ever!! Very easy to use and keep clean. Just one thing, and I hope that someone can help me, I would like to use honey in my wholemeal bread recipie, but, when do I put it in - i.e. before the flour or afterwards??? any tips will be appreciated.

Published 04 Mar 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're pleased you're enjoying using your bread maker. We'd recommend adding the honey into your wholemeal mix at the stage you add your wet ingredients. We'll be in touch shortly to help further.

Rubbish!by Mrs Knifton

1 stars out of 5

My Kitchen Compact Bread Maker

Very disappointed! I knew I could take the bread maker back but it was the cost of all the ingredients, which I also purchased from Lakeland. I followed every step, to the book! After making 4 loaves, all of which were flat, dense, hard & totally inedible, I returned the bread maker. I did have the white Panasonic one but returned it to Amazon as the delay start didnt work. They didn't have any in stock so I had a refund & decided to buy this Lakeland one. I will be buying the Panasonic one again.

Published 25 Feb 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I'm sorry you'd had disappointing results with the bread maker, I'm glad that the staff at the store we're able to put things right for you.

lovely breadby Yvonne

4 stars out of 5

My Kitchen Compact Bread Maker

Ideal size for 2-3 people. I too have had the 'stuck in the pan' experience. The paddle sticks in the pan (even with oil put on the spindle & hole through paddle before starting) paddle then also sticks in the loaf. It takes a lot of shaking and banging to get the bread out most times. I have tried removing when first cooked and at various stages of cooling. The removal problem loses one star. This aside, I am very pleased with this bread maker and would have given 5 stars! RE: cup markings being difficult to see, use an indelible pen, mark 'W' for white water level, 'B' etc.

Published 24 Feb 2014

Decent, not exceptionalby Joanna

2 stars out of 5

My Kitchen Compact Bread Maker

Pros: simple to use, pretty much does what it says in the book. Cons: plastic over buttons bobbly and scratched. Metal blade was baked in to the bread. Wasn't really cooked on "light" setting.

Published 22 Feb 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for the feedback on the bread maker. I'll be in touch shortly to help.

Excellentby Penelope

5 stars out of 5

My Kitchen Compact Bread Maker

Excellent little bread maker - I use it solely for gluten free bread and I've been very impressed. I managed to lose the paddle and Lakeland to their eternal credit found me a replacement and sent it free of charge! Only thing I would change would be to increase the capacity slightly, because my GF bread recipe book has a few breads which need 400g of flour. But other than that, great.

Published 20 Feb 2014

my kitchen compact breadmakerby Mrs Linda Carey

5 stars out of 5

My Kitchen Compact Bread Maker

My first loaf, when starting machine peeked in to see dough bit thick so I added a bit more liquid and grated cheese I stopped machine to push dough with plastic spatular and the result was amazing tasting loaf

Published 14 Feb 2014

This review is for an older version of this product

Very poorby A

1 stars out of 5

My Kitchen Compact Bread Maker

I was very keen on getting this breadmaker as it's a great size, but I should have taken notice of those reviewers who said they couldn't get the bread out of the pan. I've now made 3 loaves, none of which I could eat because of the amount of digging and excavating it took to get them out. Blobs of bread don't make good sandwiches. I've sent a request for a refund.

Published 29 Jan 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for the review and taking the time to contact our customer services team, I'm glad they were able to help.

A great little breadmakerby Margaret

5 stars out of 5

My Kitchen Compact Bread Maker

I purchased the Lakeland Compact Breadmaker last week. I have made five loaves in it and they have all turned out well except one, that was my own fault as I put too much water in. The size is ideal for my small kitchen and fits nicely in a corner of the worktop but I agree with other reviews in the fact that the measuring cup is very difficult to read the measurements on. So come on Lakeland and provide a measuring cup that we can read to complement a very neat little breadmaker that makes lovely bread.

Published 22 Jan 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We've passed on your comments on the measuring cup to the buyer.

Best Thing Since Sliced Bread!by Kathleen

5 stars out of 5

My Kitchen Compact Bread Maker

I've had this bread maker for some time now and have used it everyday. I've used almost all of the settings and have never had a bad loaf yet. Marvellous!

Published 21 Jan 2014

First time home bread makersby Andy Alton

5 stars out of 5

My Kitchen Compact Bread Maker

We had been thinking about getting a bread maker for a while but had been put off by the prices & space they needed. This compact machine blitzed those two concerns even before the whiff of freshly baked bread entered our kitchen. We have used various programs & flours with some “extras” – all turned out well & tasted superb. I agree with using the “Light” setting – I doubt we will use the higher heat options. For those struggling with the liquid measure supplied just put some lines & numbers on it with a fine tipped marker pen.....problem sorted.

Published 14 Jan 2014

Yummy breadby Hilary

5 stars out of 5

My Kitchen Compact Bread Maker

My son gave me the breadmaker for Christmas, and I love it! First of all i made a white loaf, but forget to grease the paddle spindle, so the loaf was vandalized taking it out of the tin, but still very good. I have just made a faultless wholemeal loaf today, and am looking forward to making the breakfast bread, adding nuts, sundried tomatoes or olives to the wholemeal, and trying the chocolate and walnut cake. I would strongly recommend this machine.

Published 14 Jan 2014

Sorting options

Sort results

Go to another page

You are currently on page of 4. Continue to the next .

1 3 4

Your basket is currently empty