You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Customer reviews

Prepared Strawberries
Prepared Strawberries
3.0 stars out of 5 based on 96 reviews.

Showing reviews 1 - 20 of 96

rubbishby Susanne

1 stars out of 5

Prepared Strawberries

This was an utter disappointment. The tin contained not a single berry only juice. I would have thrown it out had I not already put sugar and water in the pan. I had some strawberries that I chopped up and added in then end otherwise it would have been like cheap supermarket jam. Conserve! I think not. Do NOT buy this, it' a waste of money.

Published 16 Apr 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry for the disappointment and will be in touch shortly.Please note this product is a puree and does not include pieces of strawberry

Utter disappointment on both the product and Lakelandby Mrs French

1 stars out of 5

Prepared Strawberries

What a waste of sugar, time and energy - so disappointing, I really expected better of a Lakeland product. I travelled specially to Canterbury 12 miles away to buy this as I'd run out of my homemade Plum jam for my B&B. It has no texture, is sloppy (despite an extra boil) and although smells nice, has no flavour. I also bought their Lemon Marmalade - I do hope I haven't wasted more money...

Published 11 Apr 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for the review and taking the time to speak to me on the phone. I was sorry to hear that you'd bee disappointed with the results but glad I was able to put things right for you.

prepared strawberriesby Mrs Hayden

2 stars out of 5

Prepared Strawberries

combine the strawberry concentrate with rhubarb for a change and its not too sweet.

Published 20 Mar 2014

Not a conserve !!by Mrs Wise

3 stars out of 5

Prepared Strawberries

This is definitely not a conserve, as there are no fruit pieces! Having been forewarned by other comments I bought some strawberries, chopped them up roughly and added them to the mix and cut down on the sugar - Great, certainly made strawberry jam easier to make, and it set perfectly - rather rare for me and jam making. Thank you

Published 22 Feb 2014

Expect more from Lakelandby Valerie

1 stars out of 5

Prepared Strawberries

A waste of time and money. Don't be tempted.Runny and unimpressed with flavour.Don't buy.

Published 18 Feb 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We'#re sorry that the strawberries haven't met your expectations and will be in touch shortly.

Jammy Messby Mrs hall

1 stars out of 5

Prepared Strawberries

I was very disappointing in this product i had to reboil it so it would set, i am going to try the lemon marmalade and give the conserve one more try. I did have to add apple pectin in the end. It is cheaper to by at your local supermarket and have no mess.

Published 14 Jan 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for your feedback. I'm sorry that this didn't work as well as expected, I'll be in touch shortly to help.

Not as expected!by Mrs Davies

3 stars out of 5

Prepared Strawberries

My dad (86 years young!!) always makes his own marmalade, using prepared oranges in a tin (not usually yours?) So when I saw this product I thought it would be nice for him to do strawberry Jam for a change!! Firstly there were no strawberries, which we both expected, then he couldn't get it to set. After cooling there was a layer of water under the lid and on top of the wax disc. He had to re-boil it after taking the water off, to get a very loose set. Tastes lovely but really not as expected.

Published 17 Dec 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I'm sorry that your Dad had been disappointed with the prepared strawberries, I'll be in touch shortly.

Unfortunately very disappointingby Irene

1 stars out of 5

Prepared Strawberries

Usually I make my own jams with fresh fruit but as I didn't have enough strawberries from the garden I thought I would use this instead. The jam took so much longer than 10 minutes to get to setting point and I only made 4 x 1-lb jars + 1" in the 5th jar. It's more of a jelly than jam and I was so disappointed with the final result. I certainly won't buy this product again.

Published 19 Nov 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I'm sorry that you'd been disappointed with the results, I'll be in touch shortly.

Jolly tastyby Angela

5 stars out of 5

Prepared Strawberries

The contents of the can is rather brown but end product a deep red. Really good set, end product very tasty and much nicer than a lot of bought strawberry jam/conserve. But I only got 3 jars for the effort although I only put 2lbs of sugar in, instead of 2lbs 12oz. These 3 jars at £3.30ish for can plus 95p for sugar = about £1.40 a jar. But for that delicious taste it is worth it.

Published 24 Oct 2013

STRAWBERRY CONSERVE ****by Mr YOUNG

4 stars out of 5

Prepared Strawberries

I used this for the first time and have to say after reading some of the reviews I am glad I did, as it was fine. I used 25ml less water and added 25ml pulp strawberries. Not a sweet sticky mess that some people told me it was, I will use it in the future....Gordon young.NI

Published 23 Oct 2013

Very Disappointingby Brenda

1 stars out of 5

Prepared Strawberries

This product is no more like Jam or Conserve than fly in the air. I bought two of these tins as an easy way to make jam for a Church Fayre, but there is no way I could use it under the "trade descriptions act!!!!" I wish I had read the reviews before I wasted my time, money and loads of sugar.

Published 24 Sep 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for the review and taking the time to speak to me on the phone.I'm glad I was able to put things right for you.

taste of strawberriesby Mrs tranter

4 stars out of 5

Prepared Strawberries

bought this thinking it was jam when in fact it was conserve when it wouldn't set I reboiled it and added 4 tablespoons of lemon juice to 2 tins of conserve and walla it set like jam delicious

Published 09 Sep 2013

perfect!!by Mrs Stanley

5 stars out of 5

Prepared Strawberries

I am a seasoned jam maker and I got 4.5 jars using the following method. Crush one punnet of strawberries using a potato masher. Add the tin of concentrate, half a pint of water and 1200g of JAM Sugar. As you heat the jam, make sure that all the sugar is dissolved. I let it boil until it reached setting temperature (used jam thermometer) about 15 mins. This made jam of the right consistency and the sweetness was just right. Im sure it would be fine just following the recipe and using jam sugar, but the added strawberries make it absolutely authentic.

Published 13 Aug 2013

very disappointedby Alison

1 stars out of 5

Prepared Strawberries

Would not set after an hour went down the sink.

Published 02 Aug 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry the Prepared Strawberry hasn't worked for you as expected. We'll be in touch shortly to help.

strawberry conserveby Rosy

1 stars out of 5

Prepared Strawberries

Boiled up for longer than time stated and seemed to be getting better at setting. Still too runny so reboiled for another 20 minutes to achieve anything other than pouring consistency. Still resembles a sauce, and would not use it for cream tea for which I had brought it. Very disappointing texture, taste and colour.

Published 04 Jul 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry for the disappointment and will be in touch shortly.

Not as easy as it appearsby Ruth

1 stars out of 5

Prepared Strawberries

This is the second time I have tried this product - I thought I had done something wrong the last time because it just would not set. However, having read other reviews now, I can only add my disappointment to that of others. Just boiled mine up for the second time with some strawberries and added a bottle of Certo in the hope that it will eventually set. In the light of so many adverse comments, are Lakeland doing anything to put this product right? All other preserves I have tried have been excellent.

Published 03 Jul 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry for the disappointment and will be in touch shortly.Another customer has found this method works for this item: 2 tins prepared strawberries, 1450g sugar, no water! It took less than 1/2 hour to set and I got enough to fill 7 jam jars. It tastes good and is a good texture (if you like jam without fruit pieces). We hope that helps

Where are the strawberriesby penny

1 stars out of 5

Prepared Strawberries

I know this is called a conserve but this is ridiculous.

Published 21 Jun 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry for the disappointment and will be in touch shortly.

Disappointingby Serena

1 stars out of 5

Prepared Strawberries

I haven't made jam before, thought this would be a quick, fuss free start. Followed instructions on the tin. I had to boil for 3 times the stated time before my jam wrinkled. I added knob of butter to get rid of the foam (as tin said) - it didn't, so then ended up sieving the jam to get rid of the foam as poured it into the jars. So not quick and not fuss free. The result: A strawberry flavour, sweet, sticky gloop not set as much as I would like as has just dripped out of my sandwich down my top. I'll stick to buying a jar from the supermarket in the future.

Published 21 Jun 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry for the disappointment and will be in touch shortly.Another customer has found this method works for this item: 2 tins prepared strawberries, 1450g sugar, no water! It took less than 1/2 hour to set and I got enough to fill 7 jam jars. It tastes good and is a good texture (if you like jam without fruit pieces). We hope that helps

ZOE MAMMAby ZOE

4 stars out of 5

Prepared Strawberries

Was a bit dubious at first having read some reviews. I have a tefal jam maker and was unsure how it would turn out. I followed the instructions and used programme P3 timed at 20mins. I tested the jam at 20 mins and its wasn't quite set so I boiled for another 8 mins. It still looked like liquids but set on the plate. I filled 8 227g jars and it set perfectly. I will buy again.

Published 21 Jun 2013

Jammingby Mrs Boxhall

4 stars out of 5

Prepared Strawberries

Just made Rhuberry Jam! I am using this strawberry puree as a base for other jams. In this one I used enough water to rinse the tin out, added 2 tbspns lemon juice, 400g diced uncooked rhubarb and 300g extra sugar. Setting point after 10mins rolling boil. Excellent set. Trying pineapple (Pineberry) next, then tinned peaches (Peaberry!). Fun:)

Published 12 Jun 2013

Sorting options

Sort results

Go to another page

You are currently on page of 5. Continue to the next .

1 3 4 5

Your basket is currently empty