You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Customer reviews

My Kitchen 12 Cup Mini Sandwich Tin
My Kitchen 12 Cup Mini Sandwich Tin
4.5 stars out of 5 based on 204 reviews.

Showing reviews 1 - 20 of 204

Dissapointingby Natalie

1 stars out of 5

My Kitchen 12 Cup Mini Sandwich Tin

Loved this idea but each time only one of the batch would come out like the picture and the rest of the cakes would stick and be impossible to get out. I resorted to using greaseproof paper which is such a pain and defeats the object of this seemingly lovely tin :-(

Published 14 Apr 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry for the disappointment and will be in touch shortly.You do need to grease this pan well or your cakes may stick to the pan.We've also found leaving them in the pan for 10 minutes or so helps with the release.

Fantastic tin and well worth the money no hassle guarantee.by Mrs conlon

5 stars out of 5

My Kitchen 12 Cup Mini Sandwich Tin

I greased and floured the tin without the discs in there and then quickly with no effort did the discs and just popped them in. I made 2 batches which came out perfectly, with no mess and no hassle. I would highly recommend this product. I used my own recipe for sponge mixture. If I could add a picture I would show you how good they came out and not one left in work the following day. If you are having trouble with sponge mixture weigh 3 eggs in their shells, whatever they weigh use the same in caster sugar flour and butter & drop of vanilla extract. Perfect cakes no matter what tin you us

Published 07 Apr 2014

Carmenby Carmen

4 stars out of 5

My Kitchen 12 Cup Mini Sandwich Tin

Persevered with this tin and am just about coming it grips with it. Love the idea if individual cakes and have made cheesecakes and Victoria sandwich cakes in it. I use cake release to grease the tin and find this makes cake removal easier. I cut 4" off the top of a narrow bottle, leaving the lid on, place this under each cake individually and push the tray down gently, this raises the cake so you can lift it onto the cooling wire.

Published 24 Mar 2014

Very pleasedby Jessica

5 stars out of 5

My Kitchen 12 Cup Mini Sandwich Tin

I was a little apprehensive about whether it would be worth buying this pan, however I’m glad I did. Great piece of bake ware, sturdy construction and easy to clean. Comes with two spare inserts in case you lose any, which is useful. Used the lemon drizzle cake recipe and chocolate cake recipe from the website, both were excellent. Also used the pan to make individual cheese cake, fiddle but fun and they looked fab. Would recommend using a cake release spray.

Published 20 Mar 2014

This review is for an older version of this product

Superb qualityby Sarah

5 stars out of 5

My Kitchen 12 Cup Mini Sandwich Tin

I would not purchase any other bakeware range as Lakeland's are competitively priced and produce perfect results every time. Fantastic quality, great value.

Published 05 Mar 2014

Great little cakesby Clare

4 stars out of 5

My Kitchen 12 Cup Mini Sandwich Tin

Good tin, solid and heavy. I have found that Lakeland muffin cases fit this tin well but liners would be better like with the mini loaf tin.

Published 27 Feb 2014

Always great results from theseby Annette

5 stars out of 5

My Kitchen 12 Cup Mini Sandwich Tin

I've had this product for a couple of years and I always get a great batch of cakes which everyone loves. A bit of cake release enables then to come out of the pan easily. Have used the recipes on the Lakeland website and others and have always been pleased with the results. My tip is to leave the cakes in the pan to cool for 10 mins before releasing them from the pan.

Published 17 Feb 2014

lovely cakesby Allison

5 stars out of 5

My Kitchen 12 Cup Mini Sandwich Tin

I love the way this pan is designed, the loose bottoms are stored in a plastic case in one of the holes and you also have a few spares. You do need to grease this pan well or your cakes will stick to the pan. I have found no difference between cake release and butter though in loosening the cakes. I've also found leaving them in the pan for 10 minutes or so helps them to release. The pan is easy to wash in the dishwasher and it's very heavy duty. I would highly recommend this pan, the cakes or cheesecakes I have made look so pretty, but you do need to use quite a robust cake mix.

Published 17 Feb 2014

does what it says in the tinby Rose

5 stars out of 5

My Kitchen 12 Cup Mini Sandwich Tin

I greased tin with butter and put the batter in. I levelled batter with a teaspoon and then made a slight well in the centre like you would on a big sponge. They still rose very well but left a nice little mound like you should have on a sponge ( but at least you are sure to have a flat base). Mine took 22 minutes to cook without being over cooked ( oven was at right temp as I always use a lakeland oven thermometer to double check) I let them cool in the cake tin and they popped out a treat. They looked lovely filled but the buttercream quantity was far too much. Great tin.

Published 17 Feb 2014

Super cakes!by Julie

5 stars out of 5

My Kitchen 12 Cup Mini Sandwich Tin

This tin is amazing! It arrived yesterday and today I have made the mini Victoria sponges and the coffee and walnut cakes. Both turned out brilliantly and I even forgot to grease the tin but they still fell out easily! I left them to cool for 5 mins in the tin until I could touch it, put a cooling rack over the top and turned the whole thing over. 2 needed a tap but the rest fell out! I'm well impressed!

Published 14 Feb 2014

Neighbours like them!by William

4 stars out of 5

My Kitchen 12 Cup Mini Sandwich Tin

Having read about sticking problems, I lightly greased the tins with soft margarine. I use an ice cream scoop to measure in the Victoria sponge mix (a tip I learned for making cupcakes) but did not have enough mix for 12 cake-lets so made 11. Left them for 2 minutes before turning out. No problem there. But next time I would just fill the tins to 1/3 as my sponges are a bit mushroom shaped, and bake in a slightly cooler over (Mark 4). I split the cakes with a sharp knife and sandwiched them with homemade fig jam and mascarpone. Yummy! Not 5 stars as too expensive.

Published 27 Jan 2014

fantastic resultsby JACKIE

5 stars out of 5

My Kitchen 12 Cup Mini Sandwich Tin

Bought these and have already made the chocolate cakes and victoria sandwiches (found the recipe on site a little dry). Used the quick release as suggested and no problems. Little tip, the 1lb jam waxed circles fit in the bottom perfectly.

Published 17 Jan 2014

Perfect individual dessertsby Carole

5 stars out of 5

My Kitchen 12 Cup Mini Sandwich Tin

I bought these tins to make individual chocolate truffle tortes for the Christmas lunch menu at our local Community Cafe. Perfect results. Perfect presentation. Perfect portion size. I haven't yet tried baking sponge cakes using the tins. Having read some of the reviews, as an experienced baker, I may be tempted to line the tins with a circle/band of silicone paper - 'Belt and braces' for perfect results. This will also protect the sides of the cakes and could reduce crispy sides.

Published 18 Dec 2013

great great greatby Iain

5 stars out of 5

My Kitchen 12 Cup Mini Sandwich Tin

I think the title says it all. This mini tin makes great little cakes, perfect for making loads of mouth sized treats (we have big mouths in our family). You need to ensure you only half fill or else they may spread all over the top. Tried some of the recipes on here and they are really tasty, especially the mini ginger cakes, so light. Just be careful on timings it says 40 mins but only needs 20 - 25. Only thing which would be nice is some mini cases for these as I have a few recipes I would love to try and would benefit from lining

Published 06 Dec 2013

very good! just dont forget the cake release!by Leanne

5 stars out of 5

My Kitchen 12 Cup Mini Sandwich Tin

Made the ginger and orange buttercream cakes (watch recipe is 24 instead of 12!! search site for "mini" and then select recipes) and first batch used cake release and they came out no problem and were amazing!! However forgot the cake release for the second batch, and yup they stuck/crumbled on the sides and bottoms. So definitely need a spray with cake release before filling half way. Can't wait to try mini christmas cakes and the others including cheesecakes!

Published 02 Dec 2013

Mini Sandwich Tin is a star!,by Maggie

5 stars out of 5

My Kitchen 12 Cup Mini Sandwich Tin

I rarely write reviews but wanted to add my thoughts about this tin. I am a very inexperienced baker but have had some very impressive results with this tin. It was pricey but the compliments I have received for my mini sandwich cakes have made it well worth the money. Well done Lakeland!

Published 27 Nov 2013

something differentby Carole

5 stars out of 5

My Kitchen 12 Cup Mini Sandwich Tin

I bought these earlier this year and have used them several times now. I did like others find them difficult to use the 1st time but have now got the hang of them. We have just had a Christmas fair at our church and made mini victoria sponges with jam, lemon curd and other fillings and they literally sold like hot cakes. They will definately be used again and I am seriously thinking of getting another set so I don't have to wait for the 1st lot of cook.

Published 21 Nov 2013

Mini Victoria Sponge - 12 cup mini sandwich tinby Helen

5 stars out of 5

My Kitchen 12 Cup Mini Sandwich Tin

After reading all the reviews, I purchased these tins and tried them out for the first time yesterday. I was delighted with the results. I had used the 1lb wax jam discs on the bottom of the tins as well as using cake release. Both of these tips were mentioned in the reviews and it worked a treat. After waiting two minutes after removal from the oven, the cakes slid effortlessly from the tins. If you use this method, I would suggest removing the wax discs from the cake bottoms as soon as possible and before they cool. I am delighted with my purchase and they will be well used..

Published 20 Nov 2013

Invaluable but coating chips easily despite hand washingby Mr Plant

3 stars out of 5

My Kitchen 12 Cup Mini Sandwich Tin

We have 2 sets of these tins and use them at least weekly to bake cakes (even crumble 'sandwiches' with a moist but not loose filling). It's straightforward to bake a standard-size recipe in useful, neat portions to give away or to freeze. Each cake bakes well. We followed tips in previous comments and de-tin soon after removing from the oven and this works for us. Overall, we're very pleased with the functionality of these tins. However, despite careful handling, hand washing, and attention to drying, the external coating chipped after 1st use so we're concerned about future durability.

Published 15 Nov 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for your feedback on the mini sandwich tins. I'm sorry to hear of the problem you'd had. I'll be in touch shortly.

Finished bakeby Theresa Holt

3 stars out of 5

My Kitchen 12 Cup Mini Sandwich Tin

Love the idea of these little tins, which despite other comments I have read, did not stick. Unfortunately I found the sides of the cakes crispy rather than soft. Any advice as to how I can avoid this please?

Published 13 Nov 2013

A note from the team: As soon as you put the cakes on the cooling rack cover them with cling film for a couple of minutes. You can feel the edges get soft, so as soon as they're soft, take the cling film off and let the cakes cool as normal. The cling film helps keep some of the heat in and creates a little moisture to make the edges soft. We hope this helps

Sorting options

Sort results

Go to another page

You are currently on page of 11. Continue to the next .

1 3 4 5

Your basket is currently empty