You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Customer reviews

Lakeland Slow Cooking Book
Lakeland Slow Cooking Book
3.8 stars out of 5 based on 8 reviews.

Showing reviews 1 - 8 of 8

slow cooker recipe bookby Margaret

4 stars out of 5

Lakeland Slow Cooking Book

This book is very good...surely the worst of cooks can divide or plus to adapt a recipe to suit the portion size of the cooker and the people who are dining.

Published 24 Jan 2014

Excellent Recipesby Brenda

5 stars out of 5

Lakeland Slow Cooking Book

Just received both of your books for slowcookers which I only ordered three days ago. I am really pleased with them. Loads of lovely recipes to try. I have had my cooker for about two years and have made some wonderful meals but with the help of your books I know I will be enjoying many more. I don't know why you have had some negative reviews as they recipes all look as if they can be adapted to suit different size cookers, families and tastes. Thank you, Lakeland, these books are just what I needed.

Published 05 Nov 2013

Very disappointingby Diana

2 stars out of 5

Lakeland Slow Cooking Book

This book was recommended to go with the Lakeland 1.5 litre Slow Cooker, but is gives no information on how adapt recipes for the smaller model. Obviously I can reduce ingredients in proportion, but have no idea how to adapt cooking times.

Published 30 Oct 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. The book uses recipes for a 4.5 litre slow cooker.When using a smaller or larger size of cooker,you will have to decrease or increase the quantities and almost certainly adjust the liquid content too, to suit the size of cooker you have. It is important to get to know your cooker as cooking times can vary from one cooker to the next. After a few recipies have been tried, you will be able to adjust the recipe cooking times accordingly.

Page 62 problemby Frances

3 stars out of 5

Lakeland Slow Cooking Book

I have cooked several recipes from the book and the results have mostly been good. However, I have recently had a problem with the recipe on page 62 - Chorizo, chilli & bean stew. It says to cook on low for 3 hours. This was clearly not long enough because some of the ingredients were barely warmed through. Perhaps the instruction should have been to cook on high?

Published 17 Jun 2013

A note from the team: We're sorry to hear that this recipe has not produced a great result and will be in touch soon to help.

very goodby Ann

5 stars out of 5

Lakeland Slow Cooking Book

I have had a slow cooker for almost 30 years but still found this book very informative. I suppose in the past I have been lazy and stuck to soups and stews so this book was something of a revelation, especially the roasting section which I have used on countless times always with good results. Very good value for money.

Published 19 Apr 2013

More information please with slow cookersby Sheila A.

3 stars out of 5

Lakeland Slow Cooking Book

We bought the Lakeland 3.5 slow cooker just before Christmas. It was the last one in store at the time of purchase, it was taken from the display by the assistant and she kindly printed off the manual for me. I agree there is not enough information with the product for the first time user, no advice on 'auto cook'. So today we travelled to our nearest store where we bought the Lakeland 'Slow cooking' which we've discovered doesn't cover the 3.5 cooker. So I've had to get advice from friends and family.

Published 22 Feb 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for the review and taking the time to speak with us today. I'm glad to hear that you've been experimenting with the book and had some good results.

Disappointingby Mrs Walker

3 stars out of 5

Lakeland Slow Cooking Book

I have been given a Lakeland Slow Cooker for Christmas so bought the exclusive Lakeland book to go with it. However, the book is not designed to go only with the Lakeland Cooker (as I had assumed would be the case), as it is written for a 4.5 litre cooker, rather than the 3.5 litre one I have. The recipes are aimed at 4,6 or 8 people, rather than the 4 the cooker refers to, and there is no mention of the Auto cooking setting that the cooker has. There is a variety of recipes and I am sure that I will be able to adapt the quantities although it is annoying that this is necessary.

Published 02 Jan 2012

Excellentby Nuala

5 stars out of 5

Lakeland Slow Cooking Book

I was given this book as a present from my sister after buying a slow cooker. We have 3 children (12, 10 and 9), this book has provided us with such a variety of very family friendly meals that are practical to sort out mid week and are ready for us when we all come home in the evenings. Our favourites are the Old fashioned curried sausages and the self saucing chocolate cake. We made this cake today out of curiosity- it got 10/10 from all of us. Definitely a great book for a family, we are sorted for mid week meals forever now. Well done Lakeland.

Published 28 Oct 2011

Sorting options

Sort results

Your basket is currently empty