You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Customer reviews

Lakeland Travel Kettle
Lakeland Travel Kettle
2.8 stars out of 5 based on 13 reviews.

Showing reviews 1 - 13 of 13

Works Perfectlyby Thea

5 stars out of 5

Lakeland Travel Kettle

Have just bought this kettle, was a bit concerned having read some of the reviews but all problems seem to have been sorted and it works perfectly, no problems switching off/on. Am thrilled with it!

Published 08 Oct 2013

Travel kettleby Ann Holley

5 stars out of 5

Lakeland Travel Kettle

Have just received this and find it is exactly what I have been looking for. In the summer(!) it will save me using hot water switch just to get hot water to wash in mornings when not having shower. I can keep this upstairs instead of fetching kettle.

Published 03 Jul 2013

This review is for an older version of this product

Cannot fully recommendby William

3 stars out of 5

Lakeland Travel Kettle

Product is a sensible size and appears to be well made. However, as per previous comments, the ON/OFF button is in fact an ON button only and so once switched on the kettle will continue to operate until it switches itself off. Also, it takes some time for the kettle to cool down sufficiently, even when empty and re-filled with cold water, to allow you to switch it on again.

Published 19 Mar 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for taking the time to place your review. The kettle can take up to 30 seconds to switch off when boiling and needs to cool before it can be switched on again. The only way to turn the kettle off before it automatically switches off is to unplug. We'll be in touch shortly to help.

great little setby Mrs Malcolm

5 stars out of 5

Lakeland Travel Kettle

I wanted to redress the balance as there are so many negative reviews which seem to stem from the same fault. It must've been a dodgy batch some time ago as so far, so good with mine. Does everything a travel kettle should AND turns off once boiled.

Published 29 Oct 2012

Oh dearby Mr wilson

1 stars out of 5

Lakeland Travel Kettle

How did this product get past the Lakeland boffins. We purchased the travel kettle on impulse whilst in our local Lakeland store. How we wish we had seen the reviews before buying. We have to flood the room with steam before the kettle will turn off and there is no facility to turn it off other than turning off at the plug. Doing this means that the kettle appears to come on automatically as soon as it is plugged again in even if it is cold.

Published 30 Apr 2012

A note from the team: Thanks for taking the time to place your review. The kettle can take up to 30 seconds to switch off when boiling and needs to cool before it can be switched on again. The only way to turn the kettle off before it automatically switches off is to unplug. We'll be in touch shortly to help.

travel kettle disappointmentby Mrs Horsley

2 stars out of 5

Lakeland Travel Kettle

When in the Lakeland shop I saw the travel kettle and thought it would be just what I needed. I should have read the reviews first. It looks good, and seems quite robust, but along with everyone else, I find it has two drawbacks. When it boils it takes a long time to switch itself off, up to thirty seconds. Also, once it is switched on it cannot be switched off again on the kettle.

Published 24 Nov 2011

This review is for an older version of this product

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. The kettle does not have an "off " switch.It will switch off automatically once it's reached temperature. In emergency it should be turned off at the plug.

not badby Mr Frankie

4 stars out of 5

Lakeland Travel Kettle

The first time I used this kettle I like the design is mini and easy for operation or storage. 0.5L volume is suitable for two people and save energy. 4min can boil up the water is OK, not bad

Published 29 Aug 2011

Answers needed!by

1 stars out of 5

Lakeland Travel Kettle

We too have been disappointed in this kettle, which does not "work just as well as a full-sized kettle" as the switch is faulty, in the ways already described. I am suprised it is still being offered for sale (a year after we first returned one) unless the problem has been solved, in which case it would be helpful to tell us how. Just saying 'we'll get back to you' is no help to anyone wanting to know if it's worth buying - or, in our case, if it's worth sending back the second one we've had. I want to award no stars as it is not up to Lakeland's standard, but that option is not available.

Published 27 Jul 2011

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. I'm sorry for the diappointment. I'll be in touch shortly to help.

Rather disappointingby Jill

2 stars out of 5

Lakeland Travel Kettle

I have had the same problem with this kettle as other reviewers. The switch doesn't work, either manually or automatically. Fortunately my plug point has a wall switch so I can turn it off without pulling the plug out. The usefulness of being able to boil a small quantity of water just about outweighs this disadvantage so I have decided to keep it, but this seems to be a common fault and one that the manufacturers should seek to correct.

Published 07 Jul 2011

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. I've passed your comments to the buyer and I'll be in touch shortly

Travel Kettle not fit for purposeby William Graham

1 stars out of 5

Lakeland Travel Kettle

Having read the critical reviews of this product I telephoned Lakeland to ask why they were selling a kettle that had unacceptable faults. However, I was assured that the problems had been resolved and with some reservations ordered one for a forthcoming holiday. Once the kettle has switched itself off it cannot be turned back on again. Refilling with cold water plus a few minutes wait then allowed it to be switched on, however it cannot be switched off using the switch on the kettle. Also the mains cable is most inconveniently, permanently attached to the kettle. A shabby product Lakeland!!

Published 16 May 2011

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. I'm sorry for the problems. I've passed your comments to the buyer to investigate the problems.

Shameby Gill Haynes

2 stars out of 5

Lakeland Travel Kettle

We recently bought this little set as it seemed ideal for taking on holidays and were very pleased with the convenience of having all the bits you need all together and with the storage bag to protect it to. HOWEVER, my husband has been using it this week for the first time and has found that it just won't switch off when the water has boiled and so he has to stand over it. He has had to manually unplug it each time, and then when he plugs it back it again, the red light remains on...definately seems like there may be faulty switch problem if the other two reviews are anything to go by. Such a shame as otherwise a good product. Not sure we have kept the receipt..any advice?

Published 05 Dec 2010

A note from the team: We're sorry that the travel kettle hasn't met expectations. We'll contact you to put things right. Thanks for your review.

Sorryby Margaret Keith

1 stars out of 5

Lakeland Travel Kettle

Sorry Lakeland. This is the first product that I have been disappointed with. I bought one kettle at the store in Aberdeen and it wouldn't switch off - neither automatically or manually. I returned the kettle and they replaced it with another kettle that wouldn't switch off. You kindly sent me a replacement by post, which arrived this morning. I boiled the kettle, it switched off automatically. Having made my tea I tried it again, it wouldn't switch on. Maybe it needs a long rest between uses! I will return both kettles to the Aberdeen store next week. I'm giving up on this product.

Published 02 Sep 2010

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. I'm sorry you've been so disappointed with the kettles. I'll be in touch shortly to help.

From Russia with Loveby Kirsty Smith

4 stars out of 5

Lakeland Travel Kettle

Ok, Love may be an exaggeration, but I'm in Moscow this week for work, and I knew from the last time I was over that the hotel doesn't have an in-room kettle. Bought this a couple of months ago, got ashed-out of a flight so have only been able to try it this week. Excellent kettle, does not take up too much room nor take too long to boil. I did bring my own mug with me, so I cannot comment on the use of the supplied beakers. Only issue I have with it is that once the water boils it seems reluctant to switch itself off. So far this week it's been used maybe eight times, and only once did I not have to pull the plug to shut it off. I could not persuade the switch that I wanted to cancel the request to boil. However, that's a minor point unless you intend to go away and leave it boiling itself dry. A definite recommendation.

Published 01 Jul 2010

A note from the team: We'll get the the issue you've had with the faulty switch resolved as quickly as we can - I'll be in touch shortly.

Sorting options

Sort results

Your basket is currently empty