You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Your basket is currently empty

Customer reviews

Colour-Coded Fleximats
Colour-Coded Fleximats
3.2 stars out of 5 based on 32 reviews.

Showing reviews 1 - 20 of 32

Better than I expectedby Deborah O'Brien

3 stars out of 5

Colour-Coded Fleximats

I bought these so both the vegetarians and meat eaters in the house can have a chopping board each. More durable and lasting longer than expected. Bonus they are dishwasher safe but only two at a time as they stop the water jet spinning Not easy to handwash as they flip about spreading water. Slipping on counter is not ideal when using sharp knives. Clear mat a pain as you cannot see it and can put hot stuff down and melt it. Useful for crafting as flexible. I would however buy these again as pros definitely outweigh the cons once you know what they are.

Published 23 Jul 2014

Very usefulby Jenny

5 stars out of 5

Colour-Coded Fleximats

Didn't buy these as chopping boards, but they make brilliant craft mats, the smooth side is also perfect for rolling out small bits of icing without sticking

Published 02 Sep 2013

Flimsy and priceyby Mr Smith

1 stars out of 5

Colour-Coded Fleximats

We got these to replace some plastic chopping mats that we'd got from a well known Swedish store.The fleximats were very disappointing, really flimsy for the price, difficult to wash/wipe and if you've got anything vaguely sticky (dough) useless. I'd hate to think what the mark up is

Published 26 Nov 2012

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry for the disappointment and will be in touch shortly to help.

Fleximatsby Colette

1 stars out of 5

Colour-Coded Fleximats

I am sorry to say that I am slightly disappointed with these mats. I first used the green mat to chop up a cabbage but found the mat was far too slippy on the worktop. I put it upside down and even on my wooden board but it was still too difficult to use. I have always found Lakeland products to be completely satisfactory and that is why I am sad to write this review.

Published 26 Oct 2012

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry for the disappointment and will be in touch shortly to help.

GREAT!!by Charlotte Owen

5 stars out of 5

Colour-Coded Fleximats

I got these as a free gift and think they are great, i will be taking a couple on holiday next time instead of a hard stiff chopping board. I also gave one each to my children to use as a desk protector and they are still very much intact!

Published 10 Oct 2012

Fleximatsby Sylvia

5 stars out of 5

Colour-Coded Fleximats

I have found these Fleximats an absolute boon because they are lightweight; this was particularly useful when we had a boat and even more so now we have a campervan!

Published 06 Apr 2012

This review is for an older version of this product

Love these!by Stephanie

5 stars out of 5

Colour-Coded Fleximats

I bought these to replace an old set, also bought from Lakeland, which finally wore out after many years (yes, years!) of use. These ones feel sturdier than the old ones, but still flexible enough to bend them to funnel things into a pan or get peelings into the bin without them going all over the floor. These are also better than the old ones as they're marked with what type of food to use them for rather than just colour coded. One minor criticism - can the bread mat be a different colour, as it's practically seethrough and it's hard to tell where the edges are when I'm using it!

Published 28 Mar 2012

A note from the team: Thank you for placing your review. We're pleased you love these fleximats and have put through your suggestion to our buying team.

Disappointedby Josie

1 stars out of 5

Colour-Coded Fleximats

Main problem is they don't grip on the kitchen top. Slip all over the place. I've bought a pack at the beginning of the year, though it was not good at first sight, I've tried to used them but now I have completely given up!

Published 13 Mar 2012

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. I'm sorry for the disappointment and we'll be in touch shortly to help.

OK but very thinby Robin

2 stars out of 5

Colour-Coded Fleximats

I bought these to replace some similar chopping boards from elsewhere. They looked good in the packet but after opening was surprised at how thin each board was. In total all 5 boards can not be much thicker than one of my old ones! They do the job (just) but do slide about everywhere and given the thickness I cannot see them lasting as long. I would say they are good as place mats but I am disappointed in these as chopping boards and will likely be throwing these away instead of my older boards.

Published 08 Mar 2012

A note from the team: Thank you for placing your review. The Fleximats are thin at less than half a millimetre thickness,lightweight and flexible but this doesn't stop them being tough. They are mulitpurpose as you can use them as great place mats, shelf liners or can be cut to size for covering food in the microwave.We'll be in touch soon to help.

Avoid this productby Rebecca

1 stars out of 5

Colour-Coded Fleximats

I had bought similar flexible chopping boards before from elsewhere. This time I bought from Lakeland: big mistake. The Lakeland ones got cut all the way through and split after only one day of hardly any use at all (previous other brand version lasted much much longer). The packaging states "semi disposable but will last for months". It should actually say "disposable, good for one use only". Alternatively, Lakeland should manufacture these using a tougher plastic.

Published 12 Jan 2012

A note from the team: Thanks for your review. We're sorry for the disappointment - we've checked with our buyers and this rarely happens. The Fleximats covered by our Lakeland guarantee, and we'll always be happy to replace or refund them for you. Thanks for talking to us about this.

Ok but not durableby Pam

1 stars out of 5

Colour-Coded Fleximats

Sorry Lakeland - have to agree with the reviewers who say they are not durable enough even for "cheapies". I managed to cut through the bread one on the first use and having used them all for barely a month feel they now need replacing. Probably better to pay more for a conventional chopping board.

Published 11 Jan 2012

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. I'll be in touch shortly to help.

Handy Boardsby Donna

5 stars out of 5

Colour-Coded Fleximats

I bought these to replace some old well chopped plastic boards. I am pleased with them. They bend so you can pour the chopped items into pans etc. They are easy to clean and store. They dont slip about on the worktop excessively either. I like the symbols because I can never remember which board should be used for what - I wouldn't want to give anyone salmonella!

Published 22 Dec 2011

I cut through it!by Louisa

2 stars out of 5

Colour-Coded Fleximats

The first time I used this I cut through it with the knife I was using! Great idea, but not strong enough. Great for the beach for a bbq or picnic though as they are nice and light

Published 15 Dec 2011

chopping borad/mouse matby Philip Chadwick

5 stars out of 5

Colour-Coded Fleximats

great as chopping boards - take up little space and are light (I used to have a wooden one - beautiful but weighed a ton!) and the colour coding is much appreciated by my vegetarian daughter also make really good mouse mats - 2 sides give a different feel for standard and gaming use and the bread one is almost invisible - nice and large too for grand gestures!

Published 08 Nov 2011

Disposableby Nicola

2 stars out of 5

Colour-Coded Fleximats

Nice idea but far too flimsy. They're OK as a short-term thing but as they're paper-thin knives cut through them in no time and one has split. They're also a pain to clean as they're too flexible to apply much pressure with the cloth and too big for the dishrack. Wont buy another set once this one is finished.

Published 25 Oct 2011

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review and for taking the time to chat about it on the phone. I'm sorry the mats weren't what you'd expected on this occasion. The mats are semi disposable and are suitable for a variety of uses

Not bad for the moneyby Mr chris newton

3 stars out of 5

Colour-Coded Fleximats

its a case of you get what you pay for with these, I got them to try and train my son out of using the same board for everything. Very light and flexible which is very useful when chopping and pouring veg or meat however they do cut and score very easily which means you must take care to scald and clean properly.

Published 21 Sep 2011

The best ideas are the simplest!!by Mrs BARCLAY HUDSON

5 stars out of 5

Colour-Coded Fleximats

I have always thought these Flexiboards were a stroke of genius and now I'm buying my 6th set, I thought I'd shout about it! I use them constantly and when too chopped and worn for kitchen use, they make brilliant mats for childrens' craft work, painting etc. I am celebrating my daughter's addiction to clever Lakeland products now she is at University - how rewarding that some advice actually got through!!

Published 16 Sep 2011

flexi matsby sandie gray

1 stars out of 5

Colour-Coded Fleximats

I bought these to replace ones I had bought elswhere. I am really disappointed in them. They are too thin and hardly worth using to save a work top. First time we used them with a sharp knife it almost went right through. For the price I wish I had paid extra and bought the good ones. I like the symbols though.

Published 26 Aug 2011

Very versatile and durableby Lorna

4 stars out of 5

Colour-Coded Fleximats

We are big fans of these mats. They are great if you are cutting anything messy (like ripe tomatoes or crumbly cake) because you can lift the mat and funnel its contents into your bowl, sink or bin. They are also ideal for caravanning, as they will slide into any locker and are very light and easy to wash up. We also use them to line the shelf where we keep the cooking oils etc. They are tough enough to withstand very sharp kitchen knives, and not too expensive to replace when they are worn out.

Published 30 May 2011

very handyby Pauline

4 stars out of 5

Colour-Coded Fleximats

I have been using Fleximats for many years,both in the home & in my caravan. They are very durable but I was a little disappointed with my latest purchase - the price has risen but felt that the quality was not as good & I considered the symbols unnecessary

Published 28 Apr 2011

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review.Sorry for the disappointment. I'll be in touch shortly to help.

Sorting options

Sort results

Go to another page

You are currently on page of 2. Continue to the next .

1 2