You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Customer reviews

Lakeland 1 Litre Pudding Steamer
Lakeland 1 Litre Pudding Steamer
3.3 stars out of 5 based on 29 reviews.

Showing reviews 1 - 20 of 29

love this productby Angela

5 stars out of 5

Lakeland 1 Litre Pudding Steamer

I bought the 1 litre pudding steamer and have had nothing but success, it is great. I actually pit it in the pan with the handles resting on the top and just fill up the water round the sides. I am buying another one. I love it

Published 27 Aug 2014

Puddings!by J

5 stars out of 5

Lakeland 1 Litre Pudding Steamer

This is a great product. Why did no-one think of this before? Have only tried it once and it was fantastic! The only thing I did wrong was put in too much mixture! It is so easy to use - shall definitely be making Christmas pudding this year!

Published 22 May 2014

Pudding Steamer problemby Mrs Cook

1 stars out of 5

Lakeland 1 Litre Pudding Steamer

Do not buy, unless you want to eat your pudding out of the basin.The above design no longer available. New design has handles that go out and then up standing about an inch or so above the level of the basin so you cannot turn the pudding out onto a flat plate when it is cooked. I guess this was due to complaints that the design of the handles on the original basin made it too wide for some steamers. I would like a basin of design shown as width is not a problem in my steamer oven. Pudding was cooked great but could not be turned out without falling apart.

Published 08 Nov 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry the steamer hasn't worked as expected. We'll be in touch shortly to help.

End result good but ...by Hazel Platt

3 stars out of 5

Lakeland 1 Litre Pudding Steamer

One Christmas pudding turned out very well in the end. It did, however, take several hours longer to cook than using a normal pudding bowl and foil. I agree with other reviewers that the size of pan required to accommodate the handles seems a bit excessive. I cooked the second pudding in the usual way, in my new Lakeland holly and mistletoe dish. Much quicker and just as good. I think I'll stick to the old fashioned method.

Published 07 Nov 2013

fantasticby Vild

5 stars out of 5

Lakeland 1 Litre Pudding Steamer

I love it. The pudding steamer is just fantastic, top marks from me! You just have to look for the markings on the side in order to operate the lid, the rest is easy and o, so tasty :-)

Published 13 Aug 2013

Perfect!by Mrs Seel

5 stars out of 5

Lakeland 1 Litre Pudding Steamer

I used this for the first time to make the first steamed pudding I have made in years and was simply delighted with the result - it was perfect! An updated version of the one my mother always used and I can really recommend it.

Published 23 Feb 2013

Great 2012 Family size Xmas Pud!by Sarah

5 stars out of 5

Lakeland 1 Litre Pudding Steamer

Bought this last year and until now did not have a slow cooker big enough or wide enough for it to fit in! Have now got an oval family crock pot slow cooker also bought from yourselves and what a treat! The Christmas pud I made with it for Christmas 2012 was my best ever! I do not feed pud but soak dried fruit overnight in brandy before I added rest of ingredients then placed in greased pudding steamer, then in slow cooker for 6 hours! Just steam again at Christmas lunch for 2 hours and it is perfect! Turned out really easily and steamed pud to perfection! Also handy to store before Christmas!

Published 30 Jan 2013

Not practicalby christina

1 stars out of 5

Lakeland 1 Litre Pudding Steamer

I was vvery excited about receiving my new steamer. It was tricky to open it to put my pudding in. When I came to steam it I found that it didn't fit in any of my saucepans as the handles take up so much space. So either I buy a new saucepan or never use it?!

Published 04 Sep 2012

A note from the team: We're sorry to hear that the pudding steamer did not meet your expectations and will be in touch soon to help.

Pity about the handlesby Anne

1 stars out of 5

Lakeland 1 Litre Pudding Steamer

I gave mine away - the handles meant that it didn't fit into any but the biggest pan requiring a ridiculous amount of water, etc. Such a shame because without the handles this would be absolutely brilliant. Please could you redesign this Lakeland?

Published 17 Aug 2012

A note from the team: Thank you for placing your review. We've passed on your suggestion to our buying team.

Worked fine for meby Rosalind

5 stars out of 5

Lakeland 1 Litre Pudding Steamer

Did my first pudding in this over the weekend. Yes, had to use my large stock pot but that was fine. I followed the recipe from my cookbook and realised the pudding wasn't cooked. Then read the instructions on the box and realised I had to put it in water whilst cooking - D'oh! 90mins later, a perfect pudding which slipped out of the pot v neatly. Washed well in the dishwasher - now just hoping it lasts...

Published 11 Jun 2012

Handlesby Mrs Joan King

3 stars out of 5

Lakeland 1 Litre Pudding Steamer

I totally agree with Mrs Hilson. Brilliant steamer - already have 2 litre but needed a smaller basin - the handles do spoil a first class steamer. I have to drag out the largest soup pot 14" diameter and even then I have difficulty lifting the basin out. What sort of cooking utensil did they test this steamer on?

Published 23 Feb 2012

A note from the team: Thanks for the review, I'll be sure to pass your comments about the handles to our buying team. We've found that the 1litre steamer fits nicely in a 24cm pan.

julieby Julie

4 stars out of 5

Lakeland 1 Litre Pudding Steamer

I love this steamer - it turns out perfect puds every time, however the locking mechanism is very very tricky and would work better with a screw type lid as it is easy to get off but horrendous to put on!!

Published 30 Jan 2012

1 litre pudding steamerby Ruth

5 stars out of 5

Lakeland 1 Litre Pudding Steamer

Having read some of the other reviews before buying the steamer, I wanted to add some information that others might need before making a decision. Firstly, although I haven't actually used it yet, I was very impressed with it and the lid is fine - you do need to read the instructions, but when you have there isn't a problem, it's straight forward. Secondly, size. Unlike the picture, the handles on the basin I received were bent upwards. This meant it easily fitted into my stock pot, which is approximately 22cm wide. Hope this helps.

Published 03 Jan 2012

Don't regret it for a minute but......by Mrs Marsh

4 stars out of 5

Lakeland 1 Litre Pudding Steamer

I have both versions of the pudding bowl and love them but apart from anything else the extra pan size needed to fit them in because the handles are in a fixed position means one is using twice as much energy to boil all that extra water. As pudding basins they are brilliant - that's why I've got two - but this is a real design fault and I don't understand why a company with the generations of great track record Lakeland has doesn't order a new version. If the handles folded upwards it would solve the problem and you'd be able to sell a 2 litre version again because bad reviews would go away

Published 19 Dec 2011

A note from the team: Thanks for your feedback on the pudding steamers, it's much appreciated, and we've passed it to the buyer for you.

Lakeland pudding steamerby Mrs Patricia Field

5 stars out of 5

Lakeland 1 Litre Pudding Steamer

I used this product for the first time recently. It is fantastic takes all the tedium out of tieing strings around pudding bowls to avoid steam escaping. The pudding just slipped out perfectly cooked.. The only critiscm I would have is that maybe the steamer could do with folding handles. I usually cook three puddings together in the oven standing, covered in a roasting tray. With the width of the pot including the handles I could not do this, so it will take me three times as long to cook my three puddings. Otherwise it is a super product I love it!!

Published 25 Nov 2011

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. I've passed on your suggestion to have folding handles to the buyer.

Not impressedby Samantha

1 stars out of 5

Lakeland 1 Litre Pudding Steamer

After use I washed by hand and all the tin colour film inside has peeled away. Also pudding didn't cook very well compared to a normal bowl covered with foil. Think I will go back to the old bowl method and bin this. Waste of money.

Published 14 Nov 2011

A note from the team: Thanks for your review. We're sorry you had a fault on this occasion, thanks for discussing this with us and letting us put thing right for you.

1 litre pudding steamerby Kathleen

1 stars out of 5

Lakeland 1 Litre Pudding Steamer

I wanted a sturdy steamer but when this came I just couldn't be bothered with the fiddly opening. It really IS tricky. I knew I would never use it so, sadly, returned it.

Published 20 Sep 2011

A note from the team: We're sorry to learn that the 1lt pudding steamer didn't work for you. Thanks for letting us put things right.

1ltr Pudding Steamerby Mandy

2 stars out of 5

Lakeland 1 Litre Pudding Steamer

I must say I was rather disapointed in mine (I bought it in January 2011) after the 1st time I used it the outside coating of the pot bubbled. I used it again last week and the outside coating has started peeling off. I'm just hoping that it doesn't peel all the way to the top and then inside.

Published 01 Apr 2011

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. Sorry that the coating has bubbled. Sounds as though you have a faulty one. I'll be in touch shortly to help.

Is it just me?by Ms Southworth

3 stars out of 5

Lakeland 1 Litre Pudding Steamer

or does this take longer to cook puddings than would be expected? I did christmas pudding which took twice as long as the recipe suggested and I've now had a treacle pudding on for 6 hours and it's still not cooked. It's a Delia recipe which should take 2 hours; the edges look ok but the middle is still liquid. Is it the recipe? Am I doing something wrong? Any suggestions gratefully received (and recipes).

Published 20 Feb 2011

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review.Sorry for the disappointment caused. I'll be in touch shortly to help.I'm not sure what's going wrong, perhaps more water is needed, or a bigger pan with a close fitting lid, or the steamer lid may not be on correctly. A trivet under the steamer to aid cooking may also help.

PERFECT IN EVERYWAYby Mrs SUSAN BAUDAINS

5 stars out of 5

Lakeland 1 Litre Pudding Steamer

I had one Lakeland Pudding steamer which I filled with my Christmas Pudding mixture, an absolute dream. I had so much mixture left over I had to prepare them in the traditional way with bowls, greasproof, string etc - so time consuming and a lot of messing around. I was so fed up with them, I ordered another Lakeland 1 Litre pudding steamer as they are absolutely brilliant. I was able to feed the pudding with brandy every so often just by taking off the lid and then replacing it. I haven't even bothered feeding the others too much hassle. Well done Lakeland a brilliant product and so easy to turn out - looked very professional

Published 29 Dec 2010

Sorting options

Sort results

Go to another page

You are currently on page of 2. Continue to the next .

1 2

Your basket is currently empty