You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Customer reviews

EvenSlice
EvenSlice
3.0 stars out of 5 based on 60 reviews.

Showing reviews 1 - 20 of 60

Spikes rip the middle out of fresh breadby Geoffrey

1 stars out of 5

EvenSlice

I liked this in theory, as I make my own bread and have trouble cutting even slices when it is fresh. The problem here is that the plastic end-stop is covered with little spikes that rip the middle out of soft, fresh bread while you're cutting. It's inevitable that there will be some movement in the loaf,caused by the knife as you cut it, and it's this repeated movement over the spikes that rips the bread apart. May be OK with old, hard bread, but no good for fresh. If I hadn't thrown my receipt away, I'd take it back. Not recommended.

Published 20 Mar 2014

A note from the team: Thank you for placing your review. We're sorry to hear you've been disappointed with this product and will be in touch soon.

I don't see the problem!by S

5 stars out of 5

EvenSlice

This is a super piece of kit. If one reads how to use it properly, then there is no problem. It's ideal for the bread that I bake in my breadmaker. Easy to use, does not slide (has to be used on the worksurface though). One thing that you must use with this item is a really good serrated bread knife.

Published 04 Mar 2014

evensliceby Ellen

3 stars out of 5

EvenSlice

Good product and is easy to use - if right handed! I struggled as a left-hander and after decimating a small loaf decided to return it to the shop. Being kakhanded, I had to cut slightly backwards which I found awkward and couldn't keep the bread knife flat against the metal strips. Turning the machine around did not help as I then need to cut r/handed! A great idea, just not for me.

Published 07 Jan 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry for the disappointment.

so disappointedby Fiona

1 stars out of 5

EvenSlice

I bought this product specifically to cut home-made bread - wish I had clicked through and read all of the earlier reviews before I did so, as it is much too narrow to use for bread from my Panasonic bread maker. The design of the product itself is great - simple to use, and sturdy. It just doesn't fit my bread!

Published 07 Jan 2014

A note from the team: Thank you for placing your review. We're sorry to hear you've been disappointed with this product and will be in touch soon.

Excellent Productby Pauline

4 stars out of 5

EvenSlice

Having read the reviews on this product - some of which were negative and suggested not buying it - I was unsure but went ahead with the purchase because of the Lakeland guarantee and also found nothing else on the market to compare. I need not have worried - I love this product! It doesn't move around and I am careful to remove bread to the bread board I stand it on to finish the slice so as not to cut through the plastic. A spare plastic part would be very helpful but other than that it's a wonderful breadslicer for a small sized loaf, eg 1lb.

Published 21 Nov 2013

A note from the team: Thank you for placing your review and we've passed your suggestion on to our buyers.

Not a good productby Mrs mitchell

1 stars out of 5

EvenSlice

Thought I had to try this myself despite the reviews. But I have to agree with the negative ones. It's awkward to use, you cannot cut the loaf all the way to the bottom. It was worse using it with the electric knife as that wanted to cut through the plastic. Loaves from my Panasonic bread maker don't fit it either. That said, Lakeland didn't quibble, just gave me a refund ; the amount of products I have bought in store & online which I love, far outweigh the negatives. We all still love Lakeland, don't we?!

Published 13 Nov 2013

Great, but beware!by Mr Firth

5 stars out of 5

EvenSlice

I love my Evenslice, but when it arrived, I ran my finger along the knife guide and got a sliver of plastic in my skin. My own fault, as if I had first cut a slice of bread, it would have removed the offending plastic.

Published 18 Oct 2013

Great slicerby Carol

5 stars out of 5

EvenSlice

I make my own bread but was always hated when it came to slicing it as it was always too thick. I bought this slicer and it has been great, slices are now thin and even, I never buy shop bought bread anymore make it all in the bread maker and use this to cut it, excellent product

Published 24 Sep 2013

Pretty pointlessby Gill

1 stars out of 5

EvenSlice

Bought this to help with slicing home baked loaves from my breadmaker, however it's not wide enough for the loaf to sit in between the guides so I have to squash it in which defeats the object of the exercise. Have stopped using it, so bit of a waste of money.

Published 20 Sep 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I'm sorry that the Evenslice is not large enough for your homemade loaves. I'll be in touch shortly.

very disappointedby Sandra Lock

1 stars out of 5

EvenSlice

I was eagerly waiting for this to arrive we recently bought the Panasonic bread machine (fabulous) and finding it hard to slice evenly, ordered the even slicer. It isn't wide enough I've had to try and cram the loaf into it resulting in uneven slice's and I think it's very flimsy for the price, and because it wasn't cheap I'll be returning it

Published 11 Sep 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry the EvenSlice hasn't been suitable for you. We'll be in touch shortly to help.

do not buy thisby monica reggler

1 stars out of 5

EvenSlice

this item is rubbish, the bread does not slice evenly, you end up with some thin slices and some so thick they cant fit in your toaster

Published 02 Jul 2013

A note from the team: We're sorry that this product did not meet your expectations and will be in touch soon to help.

Does what is saysby Lynda

3 stars out of 5

EvenSlice

I bought this item to cut my homemade bread and it works well enough. I am not proficient at using it though, because i still get uneven slices, so am going to buy the electric slicer instead.

Published 24 Jun 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry that the evenslice isn't for you and will be in touch shortly.

Good but needs a bit of a redesignby Mr Jolley

3 stars out of 5

EvenSlice

After using this occasionally it slices bread nice and easily and also holds the bread steady as slicing. The bread cuts nice and evenly so it does what it's designed for, but the major fault lies with the design of the knife guard,After using less than a couple of months the knife guard has very deep scores in and is very close of cutting right through, It should be made of a harder material or at least supplied with extra knife guards. Looking online you can't buy the replacement part, it does clip in so it seems it is a replaceable part. Come on Lakeland ,you're better than this.

Published 13 Jun 2013

A note from the team: Thank you for taking the time to review the EvenSlice. We're sorry it hasn't been up to our usual high standards, and we'll contact you to put things right.

The Bread slicer that works but needs spare parts!by Mrs Linda E Brown

3 stars out of 5

EvenSlice

Just bought yet another Bread Slicer! I love this slicer as it is ideal for machine made bread. But it doesn't like the bread knife which eventually cuts through the knife plate no matter how careful you are. What I can't understand is why we all have to pay out another £20 (or near enough, the original slicer cost £12 many years ago), just to get a replacement knife plate! Come on Lakeland, I am not the only one, it's about time you sold SPARE PARTS for your equipment. I am not happy to pay out this cost every few years, but as I make all my own bread and this is the only bread sl

Published 23 May 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry for the problems you've had with the Evenslice and will be in touch shortly.

Disappointedby Sandra

1 stars out of 5

EvenSlice

I rarely experience disappontment with any Lakeland purchase but I'm afraid this time I have to agree with other negative reviews. This does slip around my worktop a fair bit and beng aware of the warning not to cut into the plastic base ensures my slices are far from uniform in shape, I also find the little spikes very sharp indeed

Published 25 Mar 2013

A note from the team: We're sorry to hear you've been disappointed with this product and will be in touch soon.

DISAPPOINTING, POOR VALUEby Eileen Washer

1 stars out of 5

EvenSlice

I usually like Lakeland products and enjoy shopping there but this Even Slice should be called "UNEVEN Slice". I have read the other reviews and it seems there are a great many people who have the same thoughts as me. It is extremely difficult to get even slices from any size of loaf. I make my own bread in a breadmaker machine so the loaves are always uniform in size but trying to cut even slices is a near impossibility so it looks as if this was a very bad buy and it is back to the old method and another piece of useless equipment put at the back of the cupboard or in the bin.

Published 25 Feb 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry the Evenslice hasn't been as expected. We are pleased our customer service team have been of some help.

Won't be buying one!by A Baker

1 stars out of 5

EvenSlice

I think I'll stick to my knife, it has infinitely adjustable thickness control. And takes up less space.

Published 05 Feb 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I;m sorry that you'd been disappointed with the Evenslice, I'll be in touch shortly.

would not recommendby Ms Mitchell

1 stars out of 5

EvenSlice

I hesitated to spend £20 on this item but have always been satisfied with Lakeland purchases in past so I went ahead. I found that an ordinary medium loaf of 12 cm width will not cut evenly when fresh, and certainly not if you hold it as shown in the picture on the website. Also if you wash it, the water and any residual crumbs stick in the side channels as a ‘mush’ which are impossible to get out. I feel this will be 'redundant' in the back of a cupboard and has been a waste of money. Wish I had read the number of negative reviews before - lesson learned!

Published 05 Dec 2012

A note from the team: Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I'm sorry that the EvenSlice hadn't worked for you, I'll be in touch shortly.

OK: not great; expensiveby Andy

2 stars out of 5

EvenSlice

It's OK. It is a fiddly thing to use - in making it easily fold-able the ledge upon which you rest the bread to cut it is really too small, and the simple truth is that if you don't have the open surface of the bread 100% flat on the facing plate, the bread you end up with will have a perfectly straight cut but not necessarily uniform thickness. It is expensive for what it is - a penny shy of £20 which is not a bad markup for what must cost a very small fraction of the selling price, but if you really have trouble slicing bread I'll give it a 7 /10 for function and a 4/10 for value.

Published 26 Nov 2012

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry for the disappointment and will be in touch shortly.

Mixed feelingsby Jacqueline

3 stars out of 5

EvenSlice

A little disappointed on opening the box. I feel it is rather overpriced for what it is. It is definitely NOT non slip on my granite worktop and I have to wedge it against something. The slot-in thickness adjuster slips out rather easily - beware as I didn't notice (till my son said he couldn't find it) that on shaking off the crumbs it had joined them in the bin. I agree about the knife cutting into the plastic piece below - I hope spares are available in the future! Having said all this, it does enable everyone in the house to cut good even slices.

Published 19 Oct 2012

Sorting options

Sort results

Go to another page

You are currently on page of 3. Continue to the next .

1 3

Your basket is currently empty