You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Your basket is currently empty

Customer reviews

Doves Farm Vitamin C
Doves Farm Vitamin C
3.7 stars out of 5 based on 13 reviews.

Showing reviews 1 - 13 of 13

Very goodby Jonathan

5 stars out of 5

Doves Farm Vitamin C

This really does help the bread to rise.

Published 03 Dec 2012

vitamin C the good and the badby dominic

4 stars out of 5

Doves Farm Vitamin C

I used this at a rate of 2 teaspoons a kilo- is this too much?- it made a soft textured more-ish loaf. Its a pity that it's marketed in a tube twice the volume of the contents. Customers don't need this elementary con trick- perhaps Dove could be as green as they are organic and change this!

Published 09 Nov 2012

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. As a general rule, we recommend using one quarter of a teaspoon per 500g of flour. The container is of a handy size, allows settling of the contents and is clearly marked with the weight of the powder at 120 gms.

BEWARE - FRAGILE PACKAGINGby Mrs Donoghue

2 stars out of 5

Doves Farm Vitamin C

I have received 2 of these packages and both have arrived split. The first arrived in a large box with other goods but had split along the whole length of the tube seam and Lakeland replaced it immediately. The second arrive in its own box, coddled in bubble wrap and extra packing, but was still cracked in 2 places. The problem is not the packing or the courier but the EXTREMELY FLIMSY AND FRAGILE TUBE WHICH IS SIMPLY NOT ROBUST ENOUGH FOR TRANSIT. I have declined another replacement or refund (most of the product is still useable) but would not order this product again for delivery.

Published 03 Feb 2012

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. I'm sorry that you've been disappointed on two occasions. I think you've been extremely unlucky and hope you'll be able to regain confidence in the item at a later date.

Excellent for Spelt Flour Breadby Mrs Sylvia Hebden

5 stars out of 5

Doves Farm Vitamin C

Bread made with spelt flour (in my bread machine) is usually flat-topped and very dense. Adding half a tspn of Vitamin C to 500gms of flour certainly made an improvement. However, by accident, I once added a heaped teaspoonful to my ingredients (to which I always add a handful of oats + linseed flakes) and the result was amazing. The loaf was too big to fit into my breadbag, and was so light & fluffy, I now always add a heaped teaspoon to my mixture. Highly recommended!

Published 19 Jul 2011

Great product shame about the packagingby Jane

4 stars out of 5

Doves Farm Vitamin C

Love this product, makes my loaves seem even lighter. My breadmaker makes great bread so no problem there but adding the Vit C does seem to make wholemeal loaves lighter in texture. One small gripe, why is the plastic tub so tall and long? Contents settle immediately to about half way down the tub and even though I have long and narrow measuring spoons it's a real effort to get the 1tsp measure down and filled. Have decanted to an old baking powder tub - much easier.

Published 13 Jun 2011

This review is for an older version of this product

No Problems Hereby Lyn

5 stars out of 5

Doves Farm Vitamin C

I bought this product after reading I needed vitamin C in my wholemeal bread to help it rise. I have produced lovely loaves which are light and enjoyed by my husband, who is the first to tell me if the loaf has a dense stoggy taste. Whether it is to do with the addition of the vitamin C I dont know, but I will certainly continue to use it.

Published 17 Feb 2011

Disappointedby Mrs Penny

1 stars out of 5

Doves Farm Vitamin C

I have just used this vitamin C in my usual recipe white bread and was very disappointed. It rose less than usual and had a dense texture. I used the same flour, yeast etc that I usually use, the only difference was the addition of the vitamin C. I know it's possible that I made a mistake with the measurements but I'm not sure I want to waste the flour trying again.

Published 13 Sep 2010

A note from the team: I'm sorry to hear that the use of the vitamin C was not successful. I'll be in touch shortly to help.

Works for meby Janette J McKilligan

5 stars out of 5

Doves Farm Vitamin C

I make most of my bread in a bread machine and think it turns out a pretty good loaf. However, after a recommendation, I have started using Vitamin C and have found it really improves the softness of the bread. I used to find I got a nice soft bread with wholegrain flour whereas the white was a little bit denser. This product has helped in both cases but especially the white. Your yeast may already contain Vitamin C. The brand I use does not so this is a must.

Published 30 Apr 2010

Don't waste your money!by Sylvia

1 stars out of 5

Doves Farm Vitamin C

I agree with Bill. After having great success with Claybrooke Mill Dough Improver for my wholemeal loaves I decided to try Vitamin C. What a disappointment! Loaves turned out really flat and heavy. I have now gone back to the Claybrooke Mill and once again have perfect wholemeal bread - lovely and light and very well risen.

Published 01 Apr 2010

A note from the team: I'm sorry that the product didn't live up to your expectations - we'll be in touch shortly.

Vitamin Cby Jethro

5 stars out of 5

Doves Farm Vitamin C

This has worked really well every time I've used it. Really nice fluffy loaves. To Bill - It sounds to me like you've used Vitamin C in place of yeast. It shouldn't be used as a substitute, hence your flat loaves.

Published 15 Mar 2010

Doesn't workby Bill

1 stars out of 5

Doves Farm Vitamin C

Sorry to contradict the other reviews here, but... I've made three loaves with this product, and all have been flat as a pancake. I had previously been using a different product (and I regret I cannot remember what it was!) - this was great. It made light fluffy loaves that my kids loved. But not this one, even to the exact same recipe. I'd avoid it. Not cheap either. Additional update: Lakeland were absolutely excellent about refunding the cost of this for me. Many thanks.

Published 06 Mar 2010

Lighter loavesby Debbie

5 stars out of 5

Doves Farm Vitamin C

This is brilliant. I've been using a bread machine for years, but adding a teaspoon of this to each of my wholemeal/ seeded loaves has really made a difference. The bread is so light and soft, and seems to be rising more. Highly recommended!

Published 02 Feb 2010

Great stuff!by Mrs Andrea Greaves

5 stars out of 5

Doves Farm Vitamin C

I bake regulary and have a favorite white recipe and I recently saw this and tried it out. I guessimated with 1 teaspoon for a loaf and it worked really well making it really fluffy. Have not tried it on brown yet (maybe tomorrow!) but I imagine it will work just as well. it is also good to know the children are getting an extra bit of vit.C as well!

Published 20 Jan 2010

Sorting options

Sort results