You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Customer reviews

Reusable Cake Tester
Reusable Cake Tester
2.3 stars out of 5 based on 35 reviews.

Showing reviews 1 - 20 of 35

Good start but disappointedby Hena

3 stars out of 5

Reusable Cake Tester

I had a good few months with this cake tester and it worked really well. However one day I noticed that the red plastic above the tip was chipped in places! Surely this should not happen? It now feels like it is falling apart. :(

Published 26 Jun 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry for the problem and will be in touch shortly.

had for years and love itby Gillian

5 stars out of 5

Reusable Cake Tester

I've just reccomended this to a friend and had to write a review after seeing so many negatives! I've had mine years and it's worked perfectly and I make a lot of cakes.

Published 21 Jun 2013

Has worked perfectly for YEARS!by Barbara

5 stars out of 5

Reusable Cake Tester

I'm really surprised to hear of the problems people have had with this tester. I was just about to buy one for a friend, because I find mine so invaluable, when I saw the low star-rating, and thought I'd better redress the balance. Mine has worked perfectly from day one, and I've had it for years. I have looked after it & not put it in the dishwasher, mind you. Have Lakeland changed their supplier maybe? Or has the supplier perhaps changed the manufacturing spec over the years? Could be worth checking out, to see if this is the problem.

Published 20 Jul 2012

This review is for an older version of this product

Disappointedby Siobhan

1 stars out of 5

Reusable Cake Tester

I wish I had been at home and able to review this, but I was in the shop and needed one so I bought it. The tip does not change colour at all - it leaves a pretty big hole in the cake - I shall just have to go back to my stick of spaghett.i

Published 04 Jun 2012

A note from the team: Thank you for placing your review. We're sorry you've experienced this problem and will be in touch soon to help.

Cake tester.by Mrs scully

5 stars out of 5

Reusable Cake Tester

Used it on a wedding fruit cake and for the very first time i could tell when it was done, It is so hard to tell with a fruit cake but this is soooo good rec this to all you wedding bakers. xx

Published 23 Apr 2012

Mrs Jamesby Mrs James

1 stars out of 5

Reusable Cake Tester

I bought one of these testers,as I was having a job to see the skewer,which I have used for years. I cooked a victoria sponge and inserted tester at 35 mins.No red to be seen.This went on till I had had the sponge in for 50mins and still no red on the tester.I thought I must have brought a faulty one,but on reading some of the reviews,I see others have found the same problem

Published 30 Jan 2012

A note from the team: We're concerned the reusable cake tester didn't meet your expectations. Our customer services team will be in touch shortly.

Waste Of Timeby Sharron Fuller

1 stars out of 5

Reusable Cake Tester

I have used this time and time again, thinking its just me. I end up using a meat skewer just as well, this product you leave it in for a while so it can read the temperature which will turn the colour either way, then you have waited longer enough so you lose the heat out of the oven. Not impressed with this as much as I hoped I would be

Published 07 Jun 2011

A note from the team: Thanks for your review and taking the time to speak to me on the phone. I'm glad I was able to help.

Nothing lasts foreverby Annette

3 stars out of 5

Reusable Cake Tester

I have been using this cake tester for a couple of years now and have always found it reliable for cakes. But it doesn't work for bread at all, so I guess it depends on the type of cake you make. I find that one cake tester lasts me about 6 months, then I have to start a new one. I don't find that such a problem. After all, nothing lasts forever in this world...

Published 03 Jun 2011

Faulty reusable cake testerby frank

1 stars out of 5

Reusable Cake Tester

I recently purchased a reusable cake tester, and was disappointed to discover that it doesn't appear to work. The tip of the probe doesnt change colour - even though the cake is fully baked. I initially thought I had been unlucky, and had purchased a faulty one, but after reading the reviews, I can see that the product does not appear to be very reliable. Over the years, I have purchased many products from Lakeland, and have never had any problems.However, I am disappointed that the product is still on sale, even though Lakeland appear to be aware that the product is faulty.

Published 20 May 2011

A note from the team: I'm sorry that the cake tester had proved to be faulty. I'll be in touch shortly.

Re-usable cake testerby Judith

1 stars out of 5

Reusable Cake Tester

Although at first I thought this was a good buy, I found after a couple of uses the colour flaked off the tip so that it no longer appears to work. Bit of a waste of money for me.

Published 03 May 2011

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. It may be a faulty tester, so I'll be in touch shortly to help.

Works for meby Alison

4 stars out of 5

Reusable Cake Tester

It seems you either love this gadget or hate it ! it works for me - easy to see the change in colour and cakes are perfect

Published 23 Apr 2011

NOT dishwasher proof!by Linda Dutton

4 stars out of 5

Reusable Cake Tester

This works brilliantly (much better than my old scewer) - but I am just having to buy a new one as I inadvertently put mine in the dishwasher and the tip disintegrated! Until I did that, it had worked perfectly time after time!

Published 19 Nov 2010

Tip turned blackby Mrs Holdsworth

1 stars out of 5

Reusable Cake Tester

The first and only time I've used this, the whole tip turned black and is no longer heat sensitive ie doesn't do the job its supposed to. Very disappointing.

Published 29 Sep 2010

A note from the team: I'm sorry to hear of the problems you'd had with the cake tester. I'll be in touch shortly.

Waste of moneyby Janet

1 stars out of 5

Reusable Cake Tester

The tip that is supposed to turn red is so small that you need to have good eyesight to tell if it is indeed red. After just three uses it didn't work at all, even after checking with a magnifying glass! Oh well - back to the skewer.

Published 26 Sep 2010

A note from the team: Your feedback is appreciated, it's not nice that the reusable cake tester has been a disappointment. We'll contact you to put things right.

Tip is fragmentingby Lisa

1 stars out of 5

Reusable Cake Tester

I was delighted with the cake tester at first but as the tip has now fragmented and bits have been left behind in a cake I can no longer use it....very disappointing!!!

Published 31 Aug 2010

A note from the team: I'm sorry to hear that the a cake tester tip has fragmented. I'll be in touch shortly to help.

Doesn't workby Karli

1 stars out of 5

Reusable Cake Tester

This item doesn't work. Noticed no change in colour, even though I knew the cake was cooked. Will stick to my cocktail stick method from now on

Published 27 Aug 2010

A note from the team: Thanks for your review. It's not nice that the cake tester hasn't met expectations, and we'll contact you straight away to help.

Brill!!!by L Davis

5 stars out of 5

Reusable Cake Tester

I always used a wooden skewer...but this is fab. Perfect results everytime.

Published 19 Aug 2010

No colour changeby Mrs Brown

1 stars out of 5

Reusable Cake Tester

It just didn't work even though I kept checking the cake thinking "it must be me" there was no change in colour. Needless to say the cake was overcooked and not really edible..... Not the usual Lakeland standard I'm afraid. Also it did leave a big hole in the top of the cake.

Published 03 Aug 2010

A note from the team: We're sorry that the cake tester hasn't worked for you. We'll be in touch shortly to put things right. Thanks for your time in writing this review.

Another hit from Lakelandby Catriona

5 stars out of 5

Reusable Cake Tester

After a series of sponge-related disasters with my new cooker, I invested in one of these, and the stress it's saved ... When the cocktail stick/skewer failed me ... this stopped me splitting a Madeira to fill only to find it had a soggy mass in the centre (cue sobbing and desperation). Had mine for a year, and it's more than paid for itself. Thank you.

Published 22 Jan 2010

Greatby Mr Lungan

5 stars out of 5

Reusable Cake Tester

I have my cake tester for 1 year now and it works very well on all types or cakes. I absolutely love it.

Published 06 Jan 2010

Sorting options

Sort results

Go to another page

You are currently on page of 2. Continue to the next .

1 2

Your basket is currently empty