You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Your basket is currently empty

Customer reviews

The Ultimate Standard Foil
The Ultimate Standard Foil
3.3 stars out of 5 based on 12 reviews.

Showing reviews 1 - 12 of 12

very poorby Ms McInulty

3 stars out of 5

The Ultimate Standard Foil

My fiance is a committed meat eater so we use a lot of foil in our house for resting meat, wrapping burritos and when making ribs. I purchased the boxed foil as the quality of the trial foil I bought at first really impressed and the integrated cutter sounded like a good idea to minimize waste but it has completely failed to live up to the Lakeland quality i am used to. The white plastic at the front of the lid has fallen off and the cutter has fallen out rendering the case useless despite still having plenty of foil left. Foil good-box garbage, should have stuck with the cardboard boxed one

Published 14 Jun 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I'm sorry to hear of the problem you've had with the box, I'll be in touch shortly to help.

sad to sayby Mrs Anne Wilson

3 stars out of 5

The Ultimate Standard Foil

Sad to say again this has broken. I have ordered this foil on many occasions in the past, also the cling film as it is very good quality and lasts. Unfortunately yet again the dispenser on foil let me down again, and have been replaced in the past,as has the cling film. I have only just started on this new roll and the blade has snapped from the plastic box which had I not been mindful from before could have given me a nasty injury. It is sad as the quality of foil and film is excellent.

Published 10 Feb 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry you've had difficulties with the box from the foil. We'll be in touch shortly to help.

Frustratingby Mrs Heeney

4 stars out of 5

The Ultimate Standard Foil

I love this foil, it's thicker than most and doesn't tear easily. However, as other reviews, the dispenser is not durable enough, the plastic holding the metal tear strip split and eventually fell off, this means trying to tear the foil using what is left of the plastic lid, which didn't work very well, so I have had to resort to using scissors, annoying! I still have about half the roll left but it's driving me mad using scissors all the time so I am ordering a new one and hoping it will not fall apart before I get the the end of the roll. Foil 5 stars Dispenser 1 Star

Published 07 Jan 2014

Disappointed againby Mrs bayliss

3 stars out of 5

The Ultimate Standard Foil

I agree with another reviewer-the foil itself is excellent but this is the 2nd or maybe 3rd roll I have bought with a dispenser which is faulty.

Published 11 Dec 2013

A note from the team: We're sorry to hear you've been disappointed with this product packaging and will be in touch soon.

Great Foil last longer than the boxby Ian

3 stars out of 5

The Ultimate Standard Foil

Great value foil, a kitchen must. But I wish the box lasted as long as the foil but doesn't. Hence only three stars

Published 11 Oct 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry that the box hasn't lasted as long as the foil and will be in touch shortly.

excellent foil shame about the dispenserby Aonghas Campbell

3 stars out of 5

The Ultimate Standard Foil

The foil is very good and strong but unfortunately the "easy to use" dispenser is completely useless. The foil will not rotate on the holders so we just have a roll of tin foil loose in the drawer and have to try and rip it in the right place

Published 02 Apr 2013

A note from the team: We're sorry to hear you've experienced this problem and will be in touch soon.

Sturdy dispenser, great foilby Mrs Irene Hare

5 stars out of 5

The Ultimate Standard Foil

Don't be put off by negative dispenser feedback as I feel they must have improved it (Jan 2013) as mine feels sturdy, does not mind being knocked about a bit in drawer, cuts well, stays shut, and the foil is Excellent, thicker than the posh supermarket brands "thick" type. Seems a lot to pay but Not when you realise the small lengths you are offered in supermarket, and compare. I would hope to buy a refill foil from Lakeland eventually, and would not expect to Have to buy a new dispenser, so will look when that time comes. I use mainly for wrapping sandwiches, roasting, lining grill

Published 24 Jan 2013

This review is for an older version of this product

Unfortunate Dispenserby Mrs donlevy

2 stars out of 5

The Ultimate Standard Foil

I used one of these whilst staying in a holiday cottage and thought the idea brilliant, we have since had 2 and Lakeland, being brilliant at Customers Services are sending us a 3rd, which I hope works, I found the blade too flimsy and after a very short while it did not cut at all. But I will try again.

Published 28 Nov 2012

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We hope the replacement will perform better for you.

Brilliant inventionby Marion

5 stars out of 5

The Ultimate Standard Foil

Like your Ultimate Cling boxes this product makes life so much easier. It is so simple to pull out exactly the right amount of foil and slice it neatly by closing the lid. No waste, no cut fingers and a perfectly straight edge. I have found the foil quite thick enough for every use and would never use anything else.

Published 13 Aug 2012

Foil good, dispenser not so...by Mrs Partington

3 stars out of 5

The Ultimate Standard Foil

The dispenser on this became unusable very quickly and I am reluctantly posting this negative review. The foil quality is good but the dispenser is disappointing.

Published 23 Apr 2012

A note from the team: Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I'm sorry to hear of the problem you've had with the faulty box. I'll be in touch shortly to help.

Tin Foilby Mrs Hood

1 stars out of 5

The Ultimate Standard Foil

I have used this tin foil for as long as I can remember, I bought one last week £15.99. I think the standard has deteriorated as it is very thin, my finger went through it. Very disappointed

Published 16 Jan 2012

A note from the team: Thanks for your feedback. This sounds like a one-off fault and we'd like to put things right for you. We'll be in touch.

Wonderfulby Ms SM Charmian Putnam

4 stars out of 5

The Ultimate Standard Foil

I think the Ultimate Lakeland foil is fantastic. Yes it maybe a bit thinner but it cuts perfectly and when wrapping something for the freezer it is an ideal thickness. However I would prefer a thicker one for using over a roast. I am off to purchase more - well done! Why not bring out a refill?

Published 27 Jul 2011

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. I've passed your suggestion for a refill on to our buying team

Sorting options

Sort results