You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Your basket is currently empty

Customer reviews

Wet 'N Dry Grinder™
Wet 'N Dry Grinder™
3.7 stars out of 5 based on 19 reviews.

Showing reviews 1 - 19 of 19

Revel grinderby Malc

5 stars out of 5

Wet 'N Dry Grinder™

I bought this product several years ago. I have been very pleased. It's a cracking little multi-purpose grinder and makes the finest curry powder imaginable. Sadly I recently overloaded the machine and the robust motor shredded the plastic workings. Hey-ho I thought, now I shall grind my spices by hand (like a proper cook?). Such a bad idea - unless you have the patience of Job and the forearms of Popeye. I am ordering my replacement grinder with a 'note to self' about not overloading it in future.

Published 05 Nov 2012

worked well for a while but...by Lesley Taylor

3 stars out of 5

Wet 'N Dry Grinder™

I've had this for a while but don't use it that much - just to grind spices, basically. I have just had the same problem as other reviewers. The spigot that holds the blades in place has broken and the machine no longer works. But it was great while it lasted!

Published 24 Oct 2012

Brilliant!by Ms Beavan

4 stars out of 5

Wet 'N Dry Grinder™

Slightly fiddly to figure out how to get the cover off the bowl but once worked out, no problem. Fantastically efficient at milling nuts - very fast, and easy to clean. Bought to replace the coffee grinding thing on my food processor/blender which had conked out, but far more efficient!

Published 10 Sep 2012

Oh Dear!by Mrs Stevenson

1 stars out of 5

Wet 'N Dry Grinder™

I bought this product several years ago when it was £25 which I found expensive at the time so was expecting great things.However it was the noisiest most horrible grinder I had ever come across .Every time you used it it not only deafened you but vibrated fit to shake the house apart.So after only a few uses I abandoned it...I could not return it as I live abroad.A few days ago a friend who is pretty penniless found she really needed a grinder so I gave her this one.But it was useless for the same reason as given by other users..the lower section collapsed. I would never want another

Published 06 Apr 2012

A note from the team: Thank you for placing your review. We sorry this item was disappointing and we'll be in touch soon.

Full of promise but then...by Margaret

2 stars out of 5

Wet 'N Dry Grinder™

This was given me as a gift about 18 months ago, and I was delighted. My son had had one and although his didn't last long , being a typical mother, I thought he must have misused it somehow. Anyway, I was chuffed. I used it for a few months, and then one day it didn't work well, and when I tried to investigate it did spring into action - but just as I was to release the pressure, so the plastic connections just got mushed. I could still use it, by pressing very hard, but after about 3 goes, it then started to smoke.I turned it off and binned it.

Published 16 Feb 2012

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. I'm sorry to hear the Wet & Dry Grinder did not work properly. I'll be in touch shortly to help.

disappointing gadgetby Pamela

1 stars out of 5

Wet 'N Dry Grinder™

I'm surprised at the favourable comments as I've found this machine pretty useless. I follow instructions closely but, with grinding nuts, it leaves some in chunks but with the rest made into a paste stuck to the bottom. And you can only put a few in at a time. Ditto with fresh herbs. Only good for breadcrumbs. Difficult to clean properly too. I have an old grinder, 54 years old, still works, looks awful but I shall stick to this. Unfortunately it was a gift so I have to pretend I like it.

Published 29 Nov 2011

A note from the team: We recommend using the grinder in a repetitive pulsing action, which will ensure better results than operating the unit consistently. It may help to reduce the time of these pulses to improve grinding. We'll be in touch to help.

Design Flawby Jan

1 stars out of 5

Wet 'N Dry Grinder™

In line with another reviewer, I have found a fundamental flaw with this model. Thanks to a bumper crop of bell peppers this year, I was using it to grind the dried fruits into sweet paprika. I carefully followed instructions around short bursts (no more than 6 sec - I actually counted!!) but I noticed grinder was getting slightly warm to touch. Then, suddenly, the noise it makes changed drastically. On examination, I found exactly what another reviewer did - the plastic fitting holding the blade in place (on underside of cup, where it makes contact with motor) & so inevitably gets hot, due to friction) had softened with heat & the blade axis had broken free. Thing is a write off !! Why on earth use a thin plastic moulding in a key position, which is bound to overheat!! Sad to add - I bought this model to replace an almost identical one that I had had for years & years (different make but design totally same & so assume this company took over model or something) - anyway, this & other similar recent experiences are beginning to make me question whether some items have inbuilt life expectancy - build quality is definitely not what it was.

Published 29 Nov 2011

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. Sorry that the grinder has been such a disappointment. I'll be in touch shortly to help.

good little grinder but...by Valerie

3 stars out of 5

Wet 'N Dry Grinder™

This grinder is good the only criticism I have is that you can't remove the blade for thorough washing. I have resorted to using a bottle brush cleaner to wash under and around the blade. Better if it lifted out completely for a good wash.

Published 13 Apr 2011

A note from the team: Thanks for your review. I'll pass your comments on.

Great little gadgetby Heather

5 stars out of 5

Wet 'N Dry Grinder™

This is a great little gadget to have especially if you use a lot of herbs and like me cannot get them finely chopped enough. Also great for grinding spices to make curries.

Published 01 Oct 2010

It's fantastic!by Ruchi

5 stars out of 5

Wet 'N Dry Grinder™

It's the best grinder I have ever bought! It delivers as promised. Very easy to make pastes for curries or to grind spices. And it's easy to clean too. I have been recommending this product to all my friends now! Must buy!

Published 13 Sep 2010

Fantastic grinder for spices and moreby Terri

5 stars out of 5

Wet 'N Dry Grinder™

I used to use an electric coffee grinder for spices but the the lid would become chipped around the edges from the force of the spices (then I'd have to buy a replacement lid) and it was always really fiddly to clean because you couldn't wash it. This grinder is perfect for the job, the whole top part (grinding bowl and lid) come off and so can be easily washed and it grinds not only spices but wet mixtures like garlic, herbs, and oils as well. Perfect for anyone who loves freshly ground curry spices or any kind of aromatic cooking.

Published 21 Jun 2010

Absolutely excellent!!by Dinar

5 stars out of 5

Wet 'N Dry Grinder™

I've had one of these grinders for over 2 years now and I have to say it is 'everything it says on the tin' and more. I use it at least 3 or 4 times a week. It grinds my dry spices and also with the addition of a little oil, will make my garlic/ginger and coriander pastes in seconds. I have no hesitation at all in recommending this product to anyone.

Published 31 Mar 2010

Fantasticby Sue Hutcheson

5 stars out of 5

Wet 'N Dry Grinder™

I bought this gadget some time ago and was so pleased with it that I bought another one for a friend. I had tried to find a good spice grinder before and been disappointed. This one is Fantastic! It is so easy to use and clean and so fast - in fact it takes longer to get it out of the box than it does to grind up the ingredients!

Published 07 Feb 2010

Excellent!by Helen O'Neill

5 stars out of 5

Wet 'N Dry Grinder™

This pulverises spices into dust! It's an excellent wee gadget and it makes such a difference to be able to toast and grind your own spices with no effort at all. Such a good buy!

Published 18 Dec 2009

REVELationby Margaret

5 stars out of 5

Wet 'N Dry Grinder™

This grinder is a little gem! I enjoy Asian cooking, but find it difficult to grind dry spices with a mortar and pestle. The Wet 'N Dry Grinder takes no time at all to do what used to take me ages. Making pastes with wet and dry ingredients is a doddle, too. And it's easy to clean, which is another thing that makes it stand out from the crowd. Well worth the money.

Published 31 Mar 2009

Great Grinderby Paul

5 stars out of 5

Wet 'N Dry Grinder™

I was worried about paying so much for a food grinder and after reading some of the reviews on other websites I was again more than a little worried but I happened to pass a Lakeland store and poppd in to check it out, it is a very sturdy little device, very well made.. I decided to buy it and I have never regreted it. amazing results and it's been in use about 2 or 3 times a week for the last 6 months.. still looks and works like new

Published 21 Jan 2009

Chocolate teapotby Mr Van outrive

1 stars out of 5

Wet 'N Dry Grinder™

This grinder states "only use in short bursts" Despite using it "in short bursts" it overheated on the second use and the plastic coupling driving the blade melted. Absolutely worthless. Not even worth 1 star.

Published 13 Jan 2009

A note from the team: Thanks for taking the time to review the Wet 'N Dry GrinderT. I'll be in touch shortly.

Worth every pennyby Carol Michell

5 stars out of 5

Wet 'N Dry Grinder™

I have yet to find a better grinder (apart from my Bamix). I do a lot of Indian cookery and this is invaluable for grinding spices - I keep the whole spices and grind as I need - and making small amounts of spice pastes. It is also so easy to clean and the mini spatula is a great plus.

Published 03 Jul 2008

One of your best gadgetsby Michele MacGregor

5 stars out of 5

Wet 'N Dry Grinder™

I can't believe there isn't another review for this fabulous gadget. We bought this several years ago, when you first started selling it. we bought it mainly to grind coffee, as every other coffee grinder we had used was awful. Soon we were using it to make pesto, grind nuts, make dressings and one of it's best uses... when you are out of icing sugar and just need to top a cake, grind granulated sugar into icing sugar with this in seconds. It hardly ever leaves the work surface. It's very easy to clean and also a neat looking object to have around.

Published 13 Mar 2008

Sorting options

Sort results