You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Customer reviews

Brilliant! Tile Grout Whitener
Brilliant! Tile Grout Whitener
3.2 stars out of 5 based on 32 reviews.

Showing reviews 1 - 20 of 32

Face saverby Nicky

5 stars out of 5

Brilliant! Tile Grout Whitener

Was going to have the tiles in our kitchen professionally cleaned. Tradesman thought there was no point as the grout was unevenly applied, a bit of a mess and had been treated with various grout revivers over the years. In desperation dug out this product which had languished unused in the cupboard for some time. More in hope than expectation. However the stuff works a treat and has made the grouting look better than new. Bit of elbow grease and thought required to do it properly. The applicator, for e.g., is a bit like the sponge on old style white plimsoll cleaners. Cotton bud better.

Published 01 Apr 2014

This review is for an older version of this product

slightly misleading..by Zoe

2 stars out of 5

Brilliant! Tile Grout Whitener

I bought this product as I thought it "whitened grout" ie cleaned it, not that it was actually new grout! I probably should have read the application instructions before buying it as that would have enlightened me, but I was in a hurry and only read the description and was slightly misled by the title "whitener". Anyway, it probably is an excellent product if you want to touch up the grout, but I just wanted to clean the grout. I ended up using Bar Keepers Friend instead which did the trick. So I have a spare barely-used tube of this if anyone wants it..!

Published 25 Mar 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I'm sorry that this hadn't been the product you'd expected, I'll be in touch shortly to help.

Disappointing resultsby Molly

1 stars out of 5

Brilliant! Tile Grout Whitener

I prepared the tiles using sugar soap solution and then rinsing it off, then allowing it to dry for 24hours. I had hoped this would make application easy. Unfortunately it was very difficult to get an even flow of whitener with the applicator, so there are patches of thick white lines mixed in with thin areas. It would have been easier to use normal grouting. The whitener is also very difficult to remove from the tiles once it has dried. The result is very disappointing.

Published 28 Feb 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry for the disappointment with the whitener and will be in touch shortly.

No good for shower or bath areasby Michele

1 stars out of 5

Brilliant! Tile Grout Whitener

Initially pleased with the result, although very fiddly to apply - ended up using my finger as the applicator too wide for normal grouting. Unfortunately after a few days this started to flake off and just wipes off with anything but a gentle clean! It remains very soft, especially in wet areas, and can be scratched off with a fingernail. Looking tatty and chipped after two weeks - disappointing.

Published 05 Dec 2013

This review is for an older version of this product

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry for the disappointment and will be in touch shortly.

VERY DISAPPOINTINGby Miss Piotet

1 stars out of 5

Brilliant! Tile Grout Whitener

Sorry Lakeland but this product was so disappointing. Really messy to put on; product goes everywhere! Then it is even more messy to get it off the tiles. I really wish I had not bothered.

Published 28 Aug 2013

A note from the team: Thank you for placing your review. We're sorry to hear you've been disappointed with this product and will be in touch soon.

Great idea in theoryby Kirsty

1 stars out of 5

Brilliant! Tile Grout Whitener

I recently used this product to freshen up the tiles in my bathroom. The overall result was good. However despite following the instructions to the letter, I'm still - days later - scouring the remainder off the tiles. In the meantime, the product is now peeling off the grout line and it looks rather tatty.

Published 08 Apr 2013

A note from the team: Thank you for placing your review. We're sorry to hear you've been disappointed with this product and will be in touch soon.

great productby Juliet

5 stars out of 5

Brilliant! Tile Grout Whitener

I have a daft vanity unit with tiny hexagonal tiles on the surface separated by loads of grouting. It was discoloured and looked awful. I used this product with fear and trepidation due to the reviews saying how hard it was to remove excess. No problem! The excess came off when dry with a warm, damp cloth, I had to scrape off in a very few places. Looks great! Only improvement would be a choice of a smaller pad, the one on it is far too big for any grouting situation. Will use it again happily.

Published 05 Feb 2013

This review is for an older version of this product

AMAZING!by Kelly

5 stars out of 5

Brilliant! Tile Grout Whitener

I bought this last week I wasn't sure as some reviews are quite negative, I can honestly say my tiles look brand new. It is slightly messy as the sponge applicator is quite big but the excess comes off easy enough. I wish there was somewhere on the website to show before and after shots just to prove it is an excellent product!

Published 15 Oct 2012

Amazing productby Mrs Hobden

5 stars out of 5

Brilliant! Tile Grout Whitener

Absolutely transformed my bathroom. So easy to use.

Published 10 Apr 2012

Amazing stuff!by

5 stars out of 5

Brilliant! Tile Grout Whitener

I recently moved to a lovely house with wetrooms and a bathroom, all of which were tiled with white tiles and not so white grout! After scrubbing with various products including bleach to no avail, I wasn't expecting this product to be any better - but I was more than surprised. The result is truly amazing- it's easy to apply, and the excess comes off with a little elbow grease (I also used "the Skrapr", which removed any excess completely effortlessly). The grout now looks like new - even where it was previously mouldy. I would recommend this product to anyone.

Published 12 Mar 2012

Not so brilliant!by Mrs Smith

1 stars out of 5

Brilliant! Tile Grout Whitener

I agree with other reviews that this product is messy to use. A lot of product is wasted on the surrounding tiles. It took several applications to get a layer along grouting and the whitener was washing off in a very short time. A very disappointing purchase from Lakeland.

Published 12 Oct 2011

A note from the team: Thanks for the review and taking the time to contact our customer services team. I'm glad they were able to help.

Grout whitenerby Mrs Chester

1 stars out of 5

Brilliant! Tile Grout Whitener

This product is terrible. I expected it to be great as most of Lakeland products are. It was really messy to apply and I couldn't get the tiles clean afterwards. I had to scrap the tiles clean and most of the grout came away again as well. Have just spent two hours removing all of the stuff. A complete waste of time!

Published 05 Sep 2011

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. I'll be in touch shortly to help.

Not at all long-lasting!by Linda

2 stars out of 5

Brilliant! Tile Grout Whitener

I used this to revive the grout in a shower cubicle. As others have said, it is messy to apply and there is a lot of waste. Still, the tiles looked wonderful when it was done. Until we started using the shower again a couple of weeks later. The whitened layer seems to be cracking in places and it is disappearing in parts - I've already had to touch it up several times. Now I just want to remove it and try something else - even regrouting! Probably would be fine on tiles that weren't going to be exposed to a lot of water, but useless in a shower!

Published 01 Sep 2011

A note from the team: Thanks for your feedback. To ensure maximum efficiency of Brilliant! tile grout whitener, the surface must be clean, dust free and dry. We recommend scrubbing using sugar soap and a tile & grout brush (product reference 21651) to remove loose grout. Rinse with clean water and allow to dry overnight before applying. We'll be in touch to help.

Brilliant!by Emma

4 stars out of 5

Brilliant! Tile Grout Whitener

Just moved into a property so cannot re tile for a while yet however the grout in the kitchen was very yellow. Followed the instructions clearly and it makes my tiles look brand new! I admit that the applicator could be a bit better designed as it can be messy (maybe a pot and brush or spatula may be better) But all the same it did a fantastic job and for the price saved me a fortune!

Published 01 Aug 2011

disappointing productby graham newlands

1 stars out of 5

Brilliant! Tile Grout Whitener

There are a few problems with this product: The applicator sponge top is too wide, more of the product goes on the surrounding tiles than on the grout. Once the product dries it is difficult to remove it from the tiles, i had to scrape it off with a razor. The liquid is very runny, when using it on a tiled wall most of the stuff just runs down the wall. A very chalky residue is left behind. In future I'll stick to using the grout whitener that comes in the pen style applicator available in most d.i.y. store

Published 21 Jul 2011

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. I'll be in touch shortly to help

Excellent grout whitenerby Gillian

5 stars out of 5

Brilliant! Tile Grout Whitener

I was a bit unsure at first because it was very runny and dripped everywhere. However I decided to get a small paint brush, squeeze the cleaner onto the pad and paint over the grout. Brilliant.

Published 05 May 2011

Good stuffby Mrs Dent

5 stars out of 5

Brilliant! Tile Grout Whitener

I've tried 3 or 4 products to whiten my grouting but this is the best by far. I agree that the hole on the tube is too big, so quite a bit is wasted. I think next time, I'll try using an artist's paintbrush to apply it - I think there will be less waste, and less to clean off afterwards. However, despite that one fault, the effect is fantastic. The cleaning of the excess didn't take as long as I'd been led to believe by other posters. I would highly recommend this product.

Published 25 Apr 2011

Unfortunately, NOT 'Brilliant'by Miss Hancock

1 stars out of 5

Brilliant! Tile Grout Whitener

According to the instructions I would not be able to use the shower or bath for approximately 36 hours - not very practical! Of course, I probably should have read the instructions in the shop before I bought it BUT I was buying from lakeland, I trust Lakeland. So, following the instructions I cleaned the tiles in the bahroom and let it dry overnight. Then I tried to apply the whitener. It says it has an 'easy applicator' - I did not find it easy! The whitener just ran all down my bathroom walls. Where it did stick to the grouting it looked ok but overall, not happy with product

Published 20 Apr 2011

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. Sorry the whitener hasn't worked for you. I'll be in touch shortly to help.

Disappointing & disappearingby Chris

2 stars out of 5

Brilliant! Tile Grout Whitener

I agree with other reviews that this product is messy to use. The applicator sponge is much too big, so a lot of product is wasted on the surrounding tiles. It took several applications to get a consistent layer along the lines of grouting and, even though I followed the instructions carefully, the whitener was washing off in a very short time. It also stained badly from liquid soap, which should not happen with a product that is used around basins.

Published 18 Jan 2011

A note from the team: Thankyou for taking the time to write your review on the tile grout whitener. We're sorry that you've been disappointed, and we'll contact you to help.

Brilliant Stuffby Lorraine

5 stars out of 5

Brilliant! Tile Grout Whitener

Yes, this product is messy - (drips easily), but it does the job fantastically. ALL the grout in the en-suite shower cubicle was grotty - despite being only 2 years old.....First I scrubbed it with sugar soap and the fantastic Lakeland Tile & Grout Brush, left it to dry, and then got stuck in with the whitener...left it 24hrs, and then dampened the tiles, and wiped the excess off....the results? Whiter than white!

Published 23 Nov 2010

Sorting options

Sort results

Go to another page

You are currently on page of 2. Continue to the next .

1 2

Your basket is currently empty