You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Customer reviews

Cake Release®
Cake Release®
4.1 stars out of 5 based on 116 reviews.

Showing reviews 1 - 20 of 116

Excellent productby Carolyn

5 stars out of 5

Cake Release®

I have used this with great success for a long time and was recently very pleased indeed to find that if I wipe the paddle on my Panasonic bread machine with a little of the liquid then most times it does not stick inside my freshly baked loaf - success, hurrah. Also recommend the bread machine.

Published 07 Apr 2014

Excellent product but...by Althea

4 stars out of 5

Cake Release®

I have been regularly using this product for bout 3 years and have never had a failure with it. However please could you put it into a more user friendly dispenser. I find it very difficult to get out, a wider neck bottle or one with integral brush would be great.

Published 10 Mar 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I'll be happy to pass on your suggestion.

Very disappointed.by Sarah

1 stars out of 5

Cake Release®

Have thought about buying this for a while, as thought it would be easier and quicker than the greasing, lining base ,and flouring that I usually do, with great results. However, despite giving the bottle a good shake and following the instructions, the sponges did NOT come out of the tin as promised. I had to shake the tins to encourage release of sponges, and then half was left in the tins. I am very disappointed , and shall go back to my original method.

Published 04 Mar 2014

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry for the disappointment and will be in touch shortly

Good productby helen

5 stars out of 5

Cake Release®

Lakeland sent me one of these because my first experience with their mini baking tins weren't positive - I had problems with bakes sticking even after greasing and lining the tins. I have used this several times now - even on silicone heart shaped moulds (Valentines!!) and bakes have turned out fine.

Published 17 Feb 2014

works like a dreamby wayne stockton

5 stars out of 5

Cake Release®

i used this for the first time today with one of the mini cake tins. Before you use this for the first time shake the bottle as vigorously as you can for about five minutes because it does settle and separate in the bottle. Works like a dream, i wouldn't use anything else now.

Published 06 Jan 2014

terrible waste of moneyby Mrs Goldsmith

1 stars out of 5

Cake Release®

Used today with the hemisphere cake tins. What a disaster. Will be returning for a refund.

Published 23 Dec 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry for the disappointment and will be in touch shortly.

Doesn't work!by Imogen Ruth

1 stars out of 5

Cake Release®

This product does not work - my cakes actually stick MORE with this than without and it has ruined more than one cake. I've tried using different amounts but to no avail. I'll be using baking paper instead from now on.

Published 10 Oct 2013

A note from the team: Thank you for placing your review. We're sorry to hear you've been disappointed with this product and will be in touch soon.

Have a try!by Rhian Jones

5 stars out of 5

Cake Release®

Used this to make a victoria sponge never imagining that it would work as well as it said in the catalogue. It was great - nothing stuck! I too used kitchen roll - wasn't sure how much to put on the tin, though, so a little instruction on the bottle would be handy. Great stuff - give it a go!

Published 08 Oct 2013

Not Quite Sureby Michael

2 stars out of 5

Cake Release®

I've tried to use the product twice now, both times the cake just stuck to the pan, I'm trying to use this in a Giant Cupcake Mould, it stuck, stuck, stuck:( The cake's destroyed. Other people seem to be getting success from this product but for me it's not doing a great deal of good :(

Published 27 Aug 2013

A note from the team: With any bakeware range the moistness of the ingredients can affect the results so we'd recommend lightly greasing the giant cupcake mould with cake release before each use and allowing plenty of time for the cake to cool before turning out. We'll be in touch to help.

brilliant for novelty bakewareby Alison

5 stars out of 5

Cake Release®

I cannot recommend this highly enough. Only a small amount is needed to smear on the baking tin but just make sure you give it a shake first otherwise it tends to come out runny.Very useful for intricate novelty bakeware. It is the only product that i have found for the cake to come out cleanly from the giant cupcake tin and produces a nice smooth surface on the cake. It's a pity it isn't gluten free but otherwise an excellent product. A definite "must have" product for baking.

Published 19 Aug 2013

Does exactly what it says on the tin!by Miss reed

5 stars out of 5

Cake Release®

...well bottle! I was pretty dubious about this product to start with...whats wrong with butter or oil?! But was given this as a gift and will never go back to butter or oil! You need the tiniest bit...after 2 years of avid cake making, we're a little under halfway through the bottle! and cakes just slide out! it's honestly fanastic!

Published 13 Aug 2013

skepticalby heather hill

5 stars out of 5

Cake Release®

I was rather sceptical about cake release and whether it would work and I was rather surprized that it did my cherry and coconut loaf slipped out of an old scratched loaf tin with ease, I usually have to line this tin with parchment but now I won't have to as this product is great and I will purchase more and tell all my friends about it. thank you for such a brilliant product.

Published 05 Aug 2013

Not sure about thisby Alyson

3 stars out of 5

Cake Release®

Tried this 3 times, so far here is what i found, 1st The product was very runny (even though i had shaken the bottle) The cake stuck to pan and was ruined. 2nd Shaked the bottle and put some in a dish, runny but not as bad as 1st time. The edges of the cakes came out hard (although soften overnight) 3rd Shaked the bottle vigorously and applied with fingers (used pastry brush before). Cakes come out fine. I think its all to do with the amount you use and getting that right will make it a great product to work with. At this moment I dont know if i will purchase this product again.

Published 30 Jul 2013

Disasterby Jane

1 stars out of 5

Cake Release®

Bought this for my new square bun tins - did everything according to instructions but every one stuck - only salvaged 2/3rds of each bun - shall definitely not be recommending or using again

Published 23 Jul 2013

A note from the team: Thank you for placing your review. We're sorry that the cake release hasn't been as expected. We'll be in touch shortly to help.

Wonderful!by Rachel

5 stars out of 5

Cake Release®

This product works very well.Made a few cakes now and all have turned out easily,no more fussing with greaseproof paper,flour etc.! The suggestion in other reviews to have it in a wide necked bottle with an integral brush would be a very good idea. I now transfer the contents to a wide necked container.

Published 22 Jul 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I'll be sure to pass your suggestion on.

AMAZINGby Mrs stacey jackson

5 stars out of 5

Cake Release®

This is a fantastic product, being a professional cake maker I get through at least 6 bottles a month, I swear by it and will never go back to baking parchment paper. My only criticism is that it doesn't last long enough and is a little expensive but worth the price when you have a perfect cake!!

Published 09 Jul 2013

Burnt bottom!by JANE

1 stars out of 5

Cake Release®

I have tried cake release on a variety of cake tins - small, medium and large. Each time, the bottom of my cake has been rather burnt. I have resorted to grease proof paper, and cake release - which rather defeats the object. That said, it is marvellous in my egg poacher - the eggs slide out so easily. So, it does have a use - just not the right one.

Published 29 Apr 2013

This review is for an older version of this product

Very disappointingby Siobhan

1 stars out of 5

Cake Release®

I have never had so many cakes ruined by sticking to the tin as I have since using this product. I followed the instructions to the letter but I will not use again. Back to greasing and flouring for me!

Published 25 Apr 2013

A note from the team: Thank you for placing your review. We're sorry that the cake release hasn't been as expected. We're pleased we've been of some help after speaking with us today.

Best Yet!by Jayne

5 stars out of 5

Cake Release®

I stopped using it for a while because of the original ingredients but now it hasn't got the naughty fatty rubbish in, I have started using again and I am very impressed so far. Brilliant in the silicone cups, especially the large giant cupcake case. Definitely would consider buying again. Would recommend to anyone.

Published 11 Apr 2013

Cake and Pastryby Barry

5 stars out of 5

Cake Release®

first time I purchased the cake release I was not sure if it would be any good. But having tried it for all different cakes large and small I was very pleased with the results. I have had the same results with my pastry. I am just ording another one

Published 11 Apr 2013

Sorting options

Sort results

Go to another page

You are currently on page of 6. Continue to the next .

1 3 4 5

Your basket is currently empty