You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Customer reviews

Electric Yoghurt Maker
Electric Yoghurt Maker
4.6 stars out of 5 based on 114 reviews.

Showing reviews 41 - 60 of 114

My recent purchase of the Lakeland Yoghurt Makerby Mr Bache

3 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

Following my recent purchase of the Yoghurt Maker, and making several batches of yoghurt, I've finally managed to get the right consistency, but the taste is really bland with very little taste. Reading many of the reviews for this product, it appears to me that there is no consistency in the suggested recipes, with vastly different amounts of starter to be used, also the amounts of dried skimmed milk powder either being used or not used. I feel that the product could be excellent with less of these variations in recipes, and much more flavour.

Published 08 Apr 2013

A good buyby Mrs Patricia Jones

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

I bought this when it was on offer, but I have no hesitation recommending it as a good buy at full price. It does exactly what it says, makes good yoghurt easily, without fuss and cheaply. I haven't had any failures, starting off with a live bio culture and UHT milk. The full fat makes deliciously creamy yoghurt, but I am currently dieting so I have used skimmed and semi-skimmed. Because the recipe asks for 900ml and a carton is a litre, I freeze the remainder of the milk and use it next time, alternating between semi and skimmed milk. The handles are rather small though, so be careful!

Published 28 Mar 2013

A Jullingsby Angela Jullings

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

What a great machine! My husband thought I was bonkers buying a yoghurt making machine but he's the biggest fan of this buy. We have saved lots of money from making our own healthy, organic and fresh live yoghurts. Delicious. Couldn't be easier. We use the UHT milk as it's cheaper and easier to work with. It's so cheap to make we even feed our hens with it to keep their guts in top condition. Well worth the buy. What we should have done though is buy 2 of the yoghurt pots/containers so we can make another fresh batch as the old one is running out.

Published 20 Mar 2013

Love Itby Elizabeth

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

Simple to use and great results. We use a litre of longlife milk and mix in a little of the last batch of yogurt to get it started. We put it on a timer switch for 9-10 hours and it turns out well every time, although it took us a couple of tries to find a good commercial yogurt to get it started. We use a fresh starter about once a fortnight to ensure it keeps a good balance of cultures. The only quibble I have is with the design of the pot - the spoon is pointless and the indentation in the pot to accommodate it just serves to make the pot harder to clean.

Published 15 Mar 2013

This review is for an older version of this product

Easy n' Goodby Gillian

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

A simple, effective machine which works. Our yoghurt maker arrived yesterday. I pre-warmed it for a few minutes, popped 2 tsp live plain yoghurt in the bowl, added 1 litre room-temp UHT skimmed milk (it fits), mixed, put the lid on and promptly forgot about it. The next morning, 17 hours later: lovely yoghurt. There was a little whey on the top, normal when incubated for this length of time - increase in acidity/tartness. Mixed the whey back in, and chilled. Made some lemon sauce, cooled. Combined the two. Result? Delicious lemon yoghurt.

Published 06 Mar 2013

brilliantby Ruth

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

Thisvery compact yogurt maker is a must for me. I have been using it for must be 20 years now and it is the only machine which really makes beautiful yogurt with no fuss, specially good with fresh raspberries and also jelly mixed in it after it has been made. Fortunately I still have the original sieve baskets to drain the liquid. I don't believe you are still able to buy these. To have them all this number of years goes to show how strong they are. Now need to make some more as it doesn't last me long as it is so yummy.

Published 04 Mar 2013

disappointmentby Mrs Berry

1 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

Very runny yoghurt, more like milk although the taste is of yoghurt. Followed instructions to the letter.

Published 04 Mar 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're sorry that the yoghurt isn't setting properly. It could be for a number of reasons, so we'll be in touch shortly to help.

Absolutely Amazing!!by Danika

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

I bought the yoghurt maker simply because I saw it on offer whilst purchasing another product, and thought it might save a bit of money in a house with three young children. I must say, I'm absolutely delighted with it. I've made both full fat yoghurt for my hubby and boys, and fat-free for myself, and cannot believe how well it's turned out every time!!! I would say it's a must-buy for anyone who has a busy home like mine, as it takes no effort whatsoever, and keeps everyone happy. Will save me a fortune!!

Published 01 Mar 2013

electric yoghurt makerby Ann

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

Fantastic, used 3 times in first week with just 1litre of UHT full fat milk and 2-3 tablespoons of yoghurt from previous batch stirred very gently in, for between 8.5 and 10 hours. Great taste, used on cereal, with fruit, nuts and honey for snacks and deserts, in home-made naan bread and in curry. And the spoon is great for lifting out yoghurt and the indentation for it seems to make the container more rigid so I think it's fine

Published 01 Mar 2013

Once brought it will never be put away!by Martin

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

After a couple of failed batches we now have it cracked. The instructions say use 900ml, but the pot will hold 1ltr so we now do not waste any out of a litre UHT semi skimmed milk carton. We add 2 tbsp of skimmed milk powder and pre warm the machine. Two desert spoons of our previous batch and off it goes. Put in on during the day so we benefit from our free solar power and it's done by tea time. We have found although fairly thick, there is still some water, so put a muslin square over the top of the pot, rubber band to hold in place and invert over a bowl. Then just chill overnight.

Published 01 Mar 2013

Excellentby Mrs Suzanne Tutton

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

This yogurt maker is the bee's knee's. I purchased this item a few weeks ago along with the extra pot and since then we have had creamy, tasty yogurt everyday. My partner and I love natural yogurt and we have bought a fair few shop varieties in our time. By far this is the tastiest and best yogurt that we have experienced. Thank you Lakeland for such a great gadget. I do suggest adding 2 tbs of milk powder to obtain the smooth creamy texture. :)

Published 01 Mar 2013

Spoonby John Dobson

4 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

This yoghurt maker is very good, I have made with uht semi-skimmed, uht full cream, and evaporated milk, all successful, BUT that spoon it gets in the way, granted you need a spoon but I have a drawer full of spoons, metal and plastic, but that silly recess for the spoon makes it very awkward to clean. I will buy a spare container when you re-design it, without a spoon.

Published 27 Feb 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I'm pleased to hear how successful the yoghurt maker had been for you. I'll be happy to pass your comments on to our buying team.

brilliant!by Stella

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

I really love this. I make the yoghurt with UHT full cream milk warmed up slightly. If you put the machine on 20 minutes before you add the milk it seems to work even better. Would recommend to anyone who eats a lot of yoghurt.

Published 25 Feb 2013

Everyday essentialby Susan

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

We've had ours over a year now, so feel qualified to review it. Simply put, it never lets us down. Consistently delicious yogurt - I have to be firm and not eat it warm as soon as it's made! And all we use is a carton of UHT; a small YV pot as a starter and a bit of dried skimmed. No pre-heating and no expensive sachets. After extensive research of the market this looked like the best, and we were right! Of course. Thank you Lakeland - keep it on the catalogue!

Published 21 Feb 2013

Great, but why is my yoghurt slimy?by Mrs Arora

3 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

I used unheated UHT milk plus 3 tsps on supermarket's own greek yoghurt. Kept the yoghurt maker running all night (for 8+ hrs). The next morning the top layer looked like amazing creamy yoghurt but when I stirred through, I found slimy yoghurt. Any idea why?

Published 24 Jan 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We would recommend adding 2 tablespoons live yoghurt gives better results than 2 teaspoons.

Excellent Yoghurt makerby Deborah

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

This is the best kitchen gaget I've bought recently. I love yoghurt & I bought this yoghurt maker after trying yoghurt my friend had made using the same model. It's quick and easy to start it off and the machine does the rest. After experimenting, I've found the best starter for me is a live Greek style yoghurt with a semi-skimmed UHT milk. It makes a thick, creamy consistency yoghut that tastes wonderful. I'm hooked! This is now my staple breakfast with a dash of honey. I also bought the spare bowl so I don't need to run out!

Published 26 Nov 2012

This review is for an older version of this product

just fantasticby Mrs greaves

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

I bought this yogurt maker as we eat a lot of yogurt. I spent a whopping £20 a few weeks ago and decided I had to do something to save money. I researched and found this to have the best results with the least faff in the reviews. I'm on a diet and can make a litre of syn free yogurt for less than 60p and it is pro biotic so good for my tummy. Fab, wish I'd done it sooner. I use skimmed milk, a dollop of my previous yog batch and 2 tbsp skimmed milk powder (used 0% fat bio yog for my first batch). Silly spoon (that I now use to fish pickles out of jar)

Published 09 Nov 2012

good at firstby wendy

3 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

I bought this and initially it was great. I was using goat yogurt and milk and loving the result. Thick and creamy! However recently I have tried 5 batches- with an old batch starter then a newly bought yogurt starter, heating the milk and not, using powdered milk and not but none of them have turnout. The result is just running with a great deal of water on top! Has cost a fortune in goat milk. It was my best investment of the year, but I am now very disappointed :(

Published 08 Nov 2012

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review.We're sorry that the yoghurt making has stalled. It sounds as though the process needs longer to achieve good results or it could be that the room temperature is causing the problem. We've emailed to help.

Unnecessary spoonby Mrs Margaret Chambers

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

I have been using this yogurt maker for a few months and it gives excellent results with full cream UHT milk. My only gripe is with the unnecessary spoon ( that got discarded straight away) the slot in the container makes it such a difficult shape to clean. Otherwise brilliant.

Published 26 Oct 2012

Yogurt makerby SarahJayne

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

Fantastic! Makes perfect yogurt every time.

Published 27 Sep 2012

Sorting options

Sort results

Go to another page

You are currently on page of 6. Continue to the next . Go back to the prev .

1 3 5

Your basket is currently empty