You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Your basket is currently empty

Customer reviews

Electric Yoghurt Maker
Electric Yoghurt Maker
4.6 stars out of 5 based on 116 reviews.

Showing reviews 21 - 40 of 116

A fun, useful, good buy!by Lorna

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

Just made my first batch with organic UHT milk and a starter of pro-biotic yogurt. Followed the instructions to the letter and I'm very pleased with the consistency and delicate flavour. Will try using some dried milk powder in the mix next time, even though I intend to stick with UHT milk. The 'Team' recommend 2 tablespoons of starter although the booklet that comes in the box clearly states 2 teaspoons (10ml). I would suggest the actual yogurt bowl has a marker for the 900ml. Very keen to make my next batch with a couple of variations. A great little bit of kit that produces a great result!

Published 15 Oct 2013

Greatby Marie

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

No longer buy yoghurt. Homemade is now a firm family favourite. Visitors are really impressed! Use long-life 4% milk, a couple of spoonfuls of semi-skimmed dried milk powder and two teaspoons of plain yoghurt (from previous batch). Plug it into a timer for eight hours. Delicious, especially when strained through a sieve lined with muslin. If drained for a while it becomes very firm and like soft cheese. Use the whey (the liquid) for bread making. Very versatile in savoury and sweet recipes and homemade ice cream. Also delicious with the addition of the fruit squirt toppings.

Published 18 Sep 2013

A truly great productby patricia

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

I live in France and all the yoghurt makers I've come across here are twice the price, with fiddly little pots. Got this yesterday, and had to use pasteurised milk with a starter from a pot of Greek Yoghurt. Had to use a thermometer to check, but otherwise went without a hitch. Will switch to UHT following the other reviews, and possibly will also try Evap. Great design agree the spoon doesn't add anything. Fits nicely in my fridge. Really pleased with it. :)

Published 11 Sep 2013

Yoghurt Makerby Dr Michael Rutter

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

I have been making yoghurt with this maker for ten years ,actually I am on my second as the first eventually died. I make a litre at a time using long life milk and prewarming for two minutes in the microwave and adding three tablespoons of dried milk powder before adding the culture, works every time and I would not like to think how many times the inner has been through the dishwasher with no harmful effect.

Published 22 Aug 2013

This review is for an older version of this product

Yoghurt makerby L D

4 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

Buyers should be aware that the inner container - where the yoghurt is made - is not dishwasher proof and must be washed by hand.

Published 15 Aug 2013

Excellent yoghurt, but!by Mr Howard

4 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

We have used our yoghurt maker to produce excellent fresh yoghurt for our B&B for over six years. We love it and so do our guests; so much nicer than shop bought and so easy. However, having to wash it three or four times a week I curse the designer who thought putting ridges, nooks and crannies in the vessel and lid in order to store a spoon was a good idea. Also, why wasn't it designed for 1l; that is how we buy the milk!

Published 15 Aug 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're pleased you find the yoghurt maker so useful. The capacity of the Maker is one litre on the finished mix using 900mils of the milk. The dome lid allows the cultures to expand the liquid of the milk to make the creamy thick yoghurt. We're sorry you find cleaning it a bit fiddly. We'll be in touch shortly to help.

proper yogurtby christine

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

I have just made my first batch of yogurt, super tastes just like yogurt should,highly recommend this product

Published 13 Aug 2013

Excellent product!by John

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

Bought one of these just over a week ago and had nothing but excellent results with the different recipes I have tried, including using fresh milk. So good my daughter now wants one.

Published 30 Jul 2013

A great purchase as usual from Lakeland.by Mrs Margaret Broughton

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

I bought this machine after finding that my favourite flavoured yoghurt seemed difficult to purchase....some years ago I had a yogurt maker that made individual ones and I found it a bit tedious. When I saw the electric one I thought it sounded much better....how right I was, it's a great piece of equipment. It arrived yesterday so I put my first ingredients in 10pm last night and woke this morning 7am to find perfect yoghurt....I found the reviews very helpful.....and followed the recipe of 900 ml whole UHT milk. two teaspoons of live yoghurt and two teaspoons of milk powder... FANTASTIC.

Published 19 Jul 2013

Yoghurt Makerby Rodney

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

This little gadget is awesome. The instructions state to use 900ml of milk but we use a full litre of sterilised milk and it all fits in. We bought a cheap pot of T***o low-fat greek style yoghurt as our initial starter (months ago) and haven't bought yoghurt since; we keep ice-cubes of yoghurt as emergency starters in case we don’t save any from our latest batch. We microwave the milk for 2 minutes, mix with 2tsp of yoghurt and 2tbsp milk powder and put in the machine for 8-9 hours. Like everyone else we have dumped the silly spoon/scoop.

Published 07 Jun 2013

Electric yoghurt makerby Mrs Jones

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

I bought this a couple of weeks ago after spending months deciding whether I really wanted it, and if it would get used. I eat a lot of yoghurt but there is no way I would go to the trouble of heating and cooling milk and heating up a flask. I have been using UHT milk with the yoghurt maker and the result is fabulous and so easy. A couple of spoonsful of yoghurt from the last batch, a litre of UHT then leave it overnight and I have all I need for a week. I drained some yoghurt through a coffee filter paper in a sieve over a bowl and got a thicker creamy texture to use with pies and tarts

Published 03 Jun 2013

It just works!by Dr Burgess

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

Brilliant! Worked first time and every time so far. Looked at the other reviews and followed various recommendations, including preheating the yogurt maker. Another website recommended using Bulgaricus culture to start which could be used again, and this seems to work. Is the bowl dishwasher friendly? The spoon is useless, and the ridge it creates makes the bowl difficult to clean; a snap-on cap for the bowl to store in the fridge would be useful, but otherwise this is a lovely, compact, useful piece of equipment. Strained, the yoghurt is delicious, even with (UHT) skimmed milk. Recommended!

Published 03 Jun 2013

Delicious Greek Yoghurt - A Real Money Saverby Ruth

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

Wish I had one of these a long time ago. Tried a few batches of yogurt in different ways but now I make it the same every time. A couple of spoons of yoghurt to start, 1 litre carton of longlife milk (usually skimmed and the cheapest about 50p), and I use whole carton not 900ml. Leave it on overnight probably about 12 hours, then strain it through a muslin cloth over a sieve for up to an hour maybe. Makes about 500g thick Greek style yogurt. Don't strain it too much as it gets thicker in the fridge. Add some whey (liquid component) if it's too thick. I also drink the whey for goodness.

Published 29 May 2013

Like thisby Mr James

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

Really good product haven't stopped using it yet, makes a really good tasting yoghurt so fresh and tasty. Pop it on at night 8 hours later in the morning fresh yoghurt for lunch.

Published 29 May 2013

Excellentby Miss OFlynn

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

Bought one of these after much deliberation over different makes.I have had first cass results every time.Currently I use UHT Full fat with powdered milk to thicken it. Bought one as a gift for a friend and she is also getting suberb Yoghurt. Simple to use- Mix the powder with a little of the milk add starter yoghurt mix and pop into machine- leave overnight and its done for breakfast, I add pureed mixed berries for a fruity option,

Published 24 May 2013

Simply irresistible!by Terence

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

I thought, frankly, I could take or leave yogurt. A dollop on curry or a short-lived fad with the 'best' a supermarket could produce was as good as it got for me - until I bought this simple gadget. Having made my original culture with a live 'organic' pot, to cultivate four casein-loving bacteria, I now make the smoothest, gentlest, and yes, addictive yogurt imaginable. It is simply gorgeous with muesli. My advice is equally simple. Don't wait. Buy one.

Published 20 May 2013

An excellent buy!by Mrs Green

4 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

I've had this machine for a few months and I've got consistently good results from it and I would be happy to recommend it. I just have a couple of quibbles about the design... Firstly, why the spoon? Every kitchen has a spoon! Who needs an extra plastic spoon? And having the spoon means the bowl has a ridge making it harder to clean. Secondly, why not make the capacity 1ltr? The manufacturer recommends using UHT milk, UHT milk comes in litres! Thirdly, is the domed lid necessary? Does the yoghurt need the extra space? If not it just makes it harder to store. But apart from that, it's fab!:-)

Published 20 May 2013

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We're pleased you find the yoghurt maker so useful. The capacity of the Maker is liter the finished mix using 900mils of the milk. The dome lid allows the cultures to to expand the liquid of the milk to make the creamy thick yoghurt after adding the 2 tablespoons of live yoghurt to the mix.We'll pass your comment forward to look in to a larger bowl to allow you to use the full liter of UHT milk you need to buy. This would result in the final mix being approximately 1.1 liters.

Great productby Cathie

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

I love the yoghurt made in this machine using full fat UHT milk, it's so easy and delicious with honey. Is it possible to use soy or nut milk in the same way?

Published 08 May 2013

A note from the team: Thank you for placing your review. We're pleased you like the yoghut maker.You can used different types of milk to suit your needs,we'll be in touch soon.

So easy!by Damina

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

I have never made my own yoghurt before. With this yoghurt maker it is so easy! Even my boyfriend, that said he does not like yoghurt, is now having my yoghurt every day. We enjoy it so much I have now ordered two extra bowls, because I have to make new every second day. So easy even for the beginner.

Published 02 May 2013

excellent resultsby Bernie

5 stars out of 5

Electric Yoghurt Maker

Have made my first two batches of yogurt with and without added powder milk. Both gave wonderful results. Would highly recommend this product, wonderful yogurt with very little effort. Thank you to all the people who left the reviews on UHT milk, just heated it to 47 degrees in my Thermomix and added starter. Fantastic!

Published 29 Apr 2013

Sorting options

Sort results

Go to another page

You are currently on page of 6. Continue to the next . Go back to the prev .

1 2 4 5