You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Your basket is currently empty

Customer reviews

Salter Max-View Electronic Scales
Salter Max-View Electronic Scales
2.6 stars out of 5 based on 14 reviews.

Showing reviews 1 - 14 of 14

No problems - just perfectby Mrs ROBINSON

5 stars out of 5

Salter Max-View Electronic Scales

My husband bought me these scales and I was a bit sceptical as to how much I would use them (being a died in the wool imperial measurer on very old balance scales) - but I'm completely won over. I like the fact I can swap between metric and imperial, and especially the ability to measure liquid (instead of holding a jug up to the light). They're very robust - I use a variety of bowls from plastic and metal to earthernware, as well as pans.

Published 14 Jun 2012

not impressed for the costby HELEN

1 stars out of 5

Salter Max-View Electronic Scales

i found both these scales and the free timer malfunctioned after a short time. The scales show an "err" frequently and a constantly fluctuating display. I am forever having to remove the batteries. Any attempt to set the timer loses the time of day. I have tried changing the batteries in both.

Published 01 Jun 2012

A note from the team: Thank you for placing your review. We're sorry you're experiencing this problem and will be in touch soon to help.

Good scale for bakingby A H DAVIES

5 stars out of 5

Salter Max-View Electronic Scales

Having read the other reviews I was a little concerned but as my sight is poor I needed a large dispaly. The display took a little getting used to but I have had no problems with the weight changing as others have. The only annoying thing is the clock setting, a tiny button on the back. On every other level this is a perfect scale for anyone with vision problems. Very pleased with it.

Published 17 May 2012

Disappointedby Mrs Margaret Mc Aree

2 stars out of 5

Salter Max-View Electronic Scales

I had my last Salter scales for many years with no problems at all so I can say that I am very disappointed in these new ones. I thought I would buy the more expensive as I hoped they would last a long time but they are not for me. Whenever I weigh anything on them, the digital dial moves on to another weight so I have to keep topping up your ingredients which is just a pain. In their favour I would say the shape is very good and doesn't take up a lot of space in the kitchen.

Published 14 May 2012

A note from the team: Thank you for placing your review. We're sorry the scales have proved to be disappointing and will be in touch soon to help.

Disappointing by Nickolas

1 stars out of 5

Salter Max-View Electronic Scales

I bought these scales for my husband as his eye sight isn't what is used to be and I thought the large display would help. However, as clear as the display is, it is often difficult to get an accurate display. It is often difficult to re-set the scales to zero and when they eventually do, it's really confusing. I also think the room temperature reading is pointless. I'm disappointed with these scales as I have had ones from Salter previously and they have been great but I'm seriously considering buying a new set just to appease my husband!

Published 12 Jan 2012

A note from the team: We'll be happy to offer an alternative set of scales if the Salter max-view scales aren't working out for you. We'll contact you shortly about this. Thanks for your feedback.

Disappointedby Zoe Dan

1 stars out of 5

Salter Max-View Electronic Scales

I really liked the look of these scales and the price indicated that they would be good quailty but I find that when I try to press zero it does not respond. I have to press the button several times before it returns to zero and I don't find them to be particularly accurate.

Published 09 Aug 2011

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. I'm sorry this item's not been suitable for you. I'll be in touch to help

Disappointing scalesby Margaret Evans

1 stars out of 5

Salter Max-View Electronic Scales

I don't normally read reviews but wish I had read these first. I too have been struggling with these scales for about 1 year and like many other reviewers my scale reduces before I can get another weighed. Bitterly disappointed with Salter.

Published 07 Jun 2011

A note from the team: I'm sorry to hear of the problem that you've had with the scales. I'll be in touch shortly.

Brilliant scaleby Jane

5 stars out of 5

Salter Max-View Electronic Scales

I bought these scales to replace a set with a bowl. They are marvellous - you can use a small or large bowl or even put butter etc straight onto the scale. The liquid measurement is excellent too - I double checked a few liquid measurements and it's accurate - amazing! Large readout and easy to clean unit makes it a must have in my kitchen.

Published 09 May 2011

Salter Scalesby Mrs Jones

2 stars out of 5

Salter Max-View Electronic Scales

I bought these scales over a year ago and decided today to leave a review. Before I did, I had a look at the other reviews. I wish I had seen them first. I, too, find the scales very unreliable and always have. They are used only on a flat worksurface, not always the same one, and the problems are the same every time. This morning I measured out several 50g bags of dried fruit. I had to reset the scale almost every time took the container off and put it back. I measured out 25g of flour which becase 22g, then 19g. I never know which reading is right. Very disappointing.

Published 02 May 2011

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review.Sorry for the disappointment. I'll be in touch shortly to help.

Nice but not accurateby Naomi

2 stars out of 5

Salter Max-View Electronic Scales

I really like these scales especially the fact that you can see the reading from under a bowl due to the large display. This was just what I was after having struggled with small displays for so long. I almost always use the add and weigh but like other reviewers have found it not to be accurate - the display counts back down or goes to zero and I don't know where I am with the measurement. Sometimes I even struggle to get it to zero in the first place when I start. It's a shame because there doesn't seem to be anything similar on the market.

Published 27 May 2010

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. I'm sorry that the Salter scales have been such a disappointment. I'll be in touch shortly to help

DISAPPOINTEDby ANDREW

1 stars out of 5

Salter Max-View Electronic Scales

Unfortunately my complaint mirrors an earlier review. The scales appeared to function as expected but, having left the weighed ingredients on the scales for a few seconds, the digital readout started to count back towards zero without any external input from me. In the two minutes in takes the scales to power off automatically the displayed weight reduced by 13g, making it impossible to know if the displayed weight was accurate at any stage of the weighing process.

Published 12 Apr 2010

A note from the team: Thanks for placing a product review. I am sorry that you have been disappointed with the scales. We will be in touch shortly to help.

LOVE ITby Mrs Williams

5 stars out of 5

Salter Max-View Electronic Scales

Bought this 3 weeks ago at a Lakeland shop after searching for a scale that I could read when mixing bread in my large mixing bowl. Love the design - no nooks and crannies, easy to clean and have had no problems with it. Nice big display - the built-in clock and thermometer have also proved useful, particularly when making bread.

Published 04 Apr 2010

Very disappointingby John

1 stars out of 5

Salter Max-View Electronic Scales

We liked the design of these, clean lines, large digits and a resolution of 1 gram but it quickly became obvious that they are not accurate. Place something on the scales and the display will reduce by 1g in about 5-8 seconds, then another 1g a few seconds later and so on. After a phone call we personally returned them for replacement, and when we got to Taunton, the scales had been unpacked and the batteries fitted. An item of about 250g was placed on the scales, and exactly the same thing happened - new scales, new batteries. We accepted a refund.

Published 22 Dec 2009

Ultimate kitchen scalesby Rosemary

5 stars out of 5

Salter Max-View Electronic Scales

I bought these scales while on holiday in Windermere recently. They are just what I have been looking for: accurate, good size to accommodate large bowl, so easy to clean, nowhere for flour, etc to get into. I also like the large display - saves bendng down to read weight. I would highly recommend these scales to anyone.

Published 04 Dec 2009

Sorting options

Sort results