You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Customer reviews

Lakeland Toastabag-500
Lakeland Toastabag-500
3.7 stars out of 5 based on 85 reviews.

Showing reviews 41 - 60 of 85

fantasticby Annie

5 stars out of 5

Lakeland Toastabag-500

I was surprised to see negative comments raised by other customers - I've been using these for years and think they're great. We've never had a problem with them. Thick sliced bread won't fit in them but then 2 slices of thick bread won't fit in the toaster slot anyway! I'm about to order some more as my originals have eventually worn out - due to almost daily use by a hungry teenager :) and he even cleans them too, so it can't be that difficult to do or he'd leave it for me :)

Published 04 Dec 2010

Good idea - in theoryby David King

1 stars out of 5

Lakeland Toastabag-500

Originally thought "what a great idea" but had identical problems to many other reviewers e.g. bread has to be very thinly sliced to fit / sandwich filling escaped plus the bags were messy to clean afterwards. After a few attempts gave up as it seemed to take ages to toast - put cheese on a piece of toast in a microwave for just 30 seconds - much easier. Am surprised these passed your tester's examination. I will not buy them again.

Published 26 Nov 2010

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. Sorry for the disappointment. I'll be in touch shortly to help.

Too Narrowby Mrs Hawkins

3 stars out of 5

Lakeland Toastabag-500

I have used another brand of toaster bags for a number of years. I have always found Lakeland products to be of the highest quality so while in one of the shops I purchased the Lakeland version. They cook the sandwich well and very quickly but while they are thicker, they are much narrower than the previous make I used (as well as being £2 a packet more). It is very difficult to put the sandwich into the bag. Can you make them a little wider like your competitors do?

Published 23 Nov 2010

A note from the team: We'll pass your suggestion for a wider Toastabag to our buying team. Thanks for your feedback.

Disappointingby Mrs Fletcher

1 stars out of 5

Lakeland Toastabag-500

Tried various temperatures and bread thicknesses, all to no avail. Stick to a sandwich toaster.

Published 22 Nov 2010

A note from the team: Thanks for your review, we're sorry the Toastabags haven't been a success, and we'll be in touch.

It's in the bagby Maureen Gerken

4 stars out of 5

Lakeland Toastabag-500

I am more than satisfied with this product. Used it for the first time to make a quick snack for a hungry male in the family and I was delighted with the end result. I confess to being dubious, and I was worried about burning, but the toasties turned out to be very tasty indeed. My husband was intrigued by the recipes that came with the bags, so I'll have to be even more creative and see how it works out. I wonder if some of the problems people have depend on their toaster and not on the bags themselves. My only problem is that the bread I use is almost too tall for the toaster (a Kenwood) and the very top round bit isn't as crisp, but that's not so bad. Love the bags! Oh, my only moan - they didn't come clean in the dishwasher, despite putting them on the spikes as suggested, but again, they're small enough to do by hand and wipe out with a dry cloth.

Published 18 Nov 2010

an expensive way to burn toastiesby Mrs Hunter

1 stars out of 5

Lakeland Toastabag-500

Have now tried my tostabags three times changing the thickness of the bread and the filling and altering timing. Im afraid the result was all too similar. Burnt bread uncooked filling. Not fit for purpose. shame that zero stars is not an option

Published 02 Nov 2010

A note from the team: I'm sorry to learn of your disappointment with the toastabags. I'll be in touch shortly.

Great for studentsby Moira Rankin

4 stars out of 5

Lakeland Toastabag-500

I bought this bag with my son in mind who has recently gone to Uni. The first trial went well but I was lucky that I had bought smaller than usual white loaf, which is 11cm square. Most loaves are larger than this and you'd have to cut it down to fit the small sized bag. If the bag were any bigger though I don't think it would slide easily into the average toaster slot. The heat transference is good as the sandwich was well done on a relatively low setting. The bag material is quite stiff and not easy to turn inside out for cleaning but I still think this is an excellent alternative to a sandwich toaster.

Published 16 Oct 2010

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review.

Excellentby Cathryn

5 stars out of 5

Lakeland Toastabag-500

My OH got some of these and I was very dubious, but they work extremely well in our toaster. The only problem is when he gets over-ambitious with the sandwich filling and it goes all over the inside of the bag, but a bit of a soak and they're as good as new

Published 15 Oct 2010

Toastabag 500by Mrs Blood

1 stars out of 5

Lakeland Toastabag-500

Firstly, the small size of bread did not fit completely into the bag and secondly before the 3 minutes were up my toaster was smoking! I pulled the bag out immediately and one side of the sandwich was absolutely burnt. Consequently, my sandwich was ruined. Lakeland have contacted me with a refund for this within a short time of receiving my email - fantastic customer service - just a pity that the product does not work for me as it would be really useful.

Published 11 Oct 2010

A note from the team: Thanks for your review. We're sorry that the Toastabags didn't meet expectations.

...the Joy of Toastiesby Mrs Jennifer Ruth Holden

5 stars out of 5

Lakeland Toastabag-500

I have to eat gluten-free bread which crumbles as soon as you look at it, so it's useless for sandwiches. I can now make a very messy sandwich, shovel it into one of these bags and toast it in a toaster. I am rewarded with an excellent toasted sandwich which is held together by the cooked innards, particularly if it's cheese. Many, many thanks.

Published 26 Sep 2010

fantasticby Elizabeth Walker

5 stars out of 5

Lakeland Toastabag-500

Almost the best thing since sliced bread! My children love these and I have been giving them to my family and friends such that I have been asked if I am on commission. My son is about to go off to University and would not be without these handy bags. No messy cleaning up as in electric sandwich toasters and much more portable. He has discovered you can heat up sausage rolls easily in them as well, without needing to wait for the oven to warm up. All in all a fantastic product. No student should be without them

Published 09 Sep 2010

Toast-tasticby Katherine

4 stars out of 5

Lakeland Toastabag-500

I was bought these as a gift and they do a good job, without all the grease and goop of a sandwich maker. It takes some time to set your toaster to create the perfect toastie and I do have to squash the bread down to fit it in the bag but apart from that.. great! My fave is brie and cranberry..

Published 03 Aug 2010

Very pleasedby Mrs Jackson

4 stars out of 5

Lakeland Toastabag-500

I was really pleased with the cheese toasties that these made. Ok so I had to go and buy some thin sliced bread as medium or thick sliced would not fit in the bag or my toaster but that was to be expected really. I'm not a fan of the traditional sandwich toasters so this is ideal.

Published 24 Jul 2010

Toaster Killerby Mrs Kangas

1 stars out of 5

Lakeland Toastabag-500

Product killed my toaster. On first try killed my toaster and short circuted my whole appartment. Now I had to go out and buy a new toaster. To bad you can't put negative stars

Published 07 Jul 2010

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. We'll be in touch shortly to help.

Total waste of moneyby S C

1 stars out of 5

Lakeland Toastabag-500

Bought in store. Very awkward to use in my toaster. Bread burnt, cheese not melted. Complete rubbish. Another gadget for the bin. Total waste of money.

Published 02 Jun 2010

A note from the team: I'm sorry you've had such difficulties with the toastabags. We'll be in touch shortly to put things right for you.

Disappointmentby Mrs Harrison

1 stars out of 5

Lakeland Toastabag-500

We used these bags for the first time tonight and it was a disaster! The first time the cheese was melted but the toast was burnt to a crisp, we tried again and the toast was slightly less burnt but the cheese was as cold as when we put it in. We had to use the microwave to melt the cheese, having already wasted four pieces of bread and lots of cheese. Very disappointing.

Published 17 May 2010

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. I'm sorry that you are disappointed with the toastabags. I'll be in touch shortly to help.

Great product but too smallby Emma

3 stars out of 5

Lakeland Toastabag-500

Works brilliantly and sandwiches taste great. Some sliding of sandwich contents to the bottom, but if you press it together really well it�s not so bad. Main problem is the size. We buy standard loaves of wholemeal and it just won't fit. Because the sandwich doesn't go to the very bottom of the bag, the top sticks out of the toaster leaving an untoasted 3/5 cm�s at the top, and width wise (left to right not depth of sandwich) it's a real squeeze to get in. Have resorted to cutting crusts off now. Ideally, could do with having a gusset at the bottom rather than a flat crease, which would allow it to drop further inside the toaster, and needs to be a couple of cm wider. Then this would be perfect!

Published 16 Mar 2010

Coeliac Friendlyby Ruth

5 stars out of 5

Lakeland Toastabag-500

As a coeliac I cannot take the risk of using other people's toasters without getting ill from the gluten in their crumbs. Since buying toastabags I now can take them when I stay in B&Bs and with friends and family, and still have toast (made from gluten free bread). I cannot thank you enough for these!

Published 05 Mar 2010

Australia opinionby Mrs Patricia Novis

1 stars out of 5

Lakeland Toastabag-500

I sent my son a toastabag recently to Australia as I had mentioned the product when I was visiting over xmas. He thought I had sent it as a joke as his bread will not fit, I could not believe it until I read the reviews of other customers, maybe this can be sorted. My bags are ok they take two slices but I have had them years.

Published 17 Feb 2010

A note from the team: It's not nice to find out one of our products was not suitable but we'll do our best to straighten things up. We'll be in touch shortly to help.

Very Disappointedby Mrs Heather McGauley

1 stars out of 5

Lakeland Toastabag-500

I buy a normal size loaf of bread and once the sandwich is made it will not fit in these bags.

Published 29 Jan 2010

A note from the team: I'm sorry you've had such difficulties with the toastabag. We'll be in touch shortly to put things right for you.

Sorting options

Sort results

Go to another page

You are currently on page of 5. Continue to the next . Go back to the prev .

1 3 5

Your basket is currently empty