You are currently using an older version of Internet Explorer, for the best experience of our site we recommend updating to a newer version of one of the following: Google Chrome, Microsoft Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Apple Safari

Close this message
Lakeland, the home of creative kitchenware

Customer reviews

Banana Guard
Banana Guard
4.5 stars out of 5 based on 20 reviews.

Showing reviews 1 - 20 of 20

This works for me...by Joanne

4 stars out of 5

Banana Guard

Great product, even though it's a bit pricey. No more squished bananas plus somewhere to hide the peel after eating. It's made healthy breakfast/snacks on the run possible for me. It is a bit on the large side (it needs to be to fit the biggest bananas) and certainly catches people's eye. I'm a bit concerned that the catches/hinge will eventually break but so far, so good. To date all my bananas have fitted, though one or two have needed a bit of coaxing! I'm thinking of buying more for my children to take 'nanas to school (I reckon I can write their names on with permanent marker).

Published 04 Feb 2014

Yet to find a banana that doesn't fitby Claire

5 stars out of 5

Banana Guard

On purchasing this I didn't believe that all banana's would fit it but I have yet to find a banana that doesn't fit. Great product does exactly what it says

Published 12 Nov 2011

This review is for an older version of this product

Everybody wants one !by Julie Jensen

4 stars out of 5

Banana Guard

As I play a lot of tennis and often go hiking in the mountains here in Mallorca this banana guard is perfect for avoiding squashy bananas in my bag. Recently during a tennis tournament at my tennis club, I of course used my banana guard. It certainly got everyone laughing but at the same time my friends thought it was a great idea. I have already given a couple to friends and now I am going to order a couple more as birthday presents. As a lot of my friends hike or play tennis so this is an ideal gift for them. I know when they open their presents it will bring a smile to their faces !

Published 21 Jan 2011

Fun and practicalby Elaine

4 stars out of 5

Banana Guard

On a visit to Stratford my friend and I bought ourselves banana guards showed them to the owners of the B&B who were greatly amused when we requested a couple bananas from the fruit bowl to test them out. They look so funny, but they work. I cycle a lot, and it's great to have a banana that survives the trip in my pannier despite being stuck beneath the locks. My only complaint is they are rather large for the diminutive bananas I tend to eat.

Published 15 Jan 2011

Banana-and-schoolbag Guardby Annette

5 stars out of 5

Banana Guard

It certainly saves the bananas, but therefore also the library books, PE kit, letters from the teacher..... That's why it's my favourite product!

Published 12 Dec 2010

French exposureby Theresa

5 stars out of 5

Banana Guard

We live in Provence, walk regularly in the mountains, bananas are great for energy, and the guards just brilliant to avoid a mash in the bottom of our backpacks. They're completely unknown here, and cause some mirth but undoubted interest amongst other walkers.

Published 12 Dec 2010

Does exactly what it saysby Cathryn

5 stars out of 5

Banana Guard

I bought my banana guard from Lakeland years ago and it's still going strong. It's great for picnics and the kid's lunchboxes as I can fit other small fruit like plums in as well.

Published 12 Dec 2010

Useful for more than just holding bananas!by Mr Steroid Pidgeon

5 stars out of 5

Banana Guard

I love my banana guard, It's good for keeping my precious bananas unbruised!

Published 08 Dec 2010

Greatby Mrs Mills

5 stars out of 5

Banana Guard

The banana guard is brilliant, though it does cause hilarity when I get it out of my bag. It is rather large, but then it has to be so that there's scope for fitting in bananas of different degrees of curvature. I've not found a banana which won't fit in it.

Published 31 Aug 2010

It's HUGE!!by Patricia Neville

3 stars out of 5

Banana Guard

I should have realised it would be big. I only eat "fun-sized" bananas and I gasped in disbelief when I unpacked this monster! I would have a hard job wedging this plastic banana case in my tiny handbag. Is there any chance of producing a fun-sized/small banana guard for children and people like me?

Published 26 Jun 2010

A note from the team: Thanks for placing your review. I've passed the suggestion to the buyers for their consideration

Handyby Viviane

5 stars out of 5

Banana Guard

At long last something to protect my banana on transit. Ideal for hand bag or packed lunch. A little large but just the ticket for banana lovers.

Published 17 Jan 2010

it works!by jacqueline

5 stars out of 5

Banana Guard

I no longer waste bananas that get mushed at the bottom of my handbag & it's an added plus that it causes general mirth when anyone sees it in my handbag

Published 17 Sep 2009

Goodby Bron

4 stars out of 5

Banana Guard

It really does prevent bruising during transport. There have been a few 'nanas that were too big, but its amazing how the size & angle is almost always perfect. If you regularly carry bananas to work etc, well worth it.

Published 11 Mar 2009

A joke that back fired !by Amanda

4 stars out of 5

Banana Guard

I bought the banana guard as a friend kept complaining that his banana was bruised after being at the bottom of his bag for a few hours. Bought the guard as a joke but he is absolutely thrilled with it and has started using it straight away. Well done Lakeland.

Published 12 Nov 2008

Great!by Lisa

5 stars out of 5

Banana Guard

I ordered 4 of these, 3 for my children to use for school and one for myself as I often have a banana with me when I go out. I was fed up with my young teens moaning at me that they didn't want bananas in their lunch any more as they always get bashed by lunch time. Unfortunately they all refuse to use them as they say it makes them look like babies lol, so we have a few spare now, funny that they'll happily use them at weekends though! Anyway they're great, I've not come across a banana yet that won't fit in the case. They do protect the banana really well, and one can stay in my bag all day and be in good condition at the end of the day.

Published 06 Sep 2008

ha ha ha ha ha hmmm...by kirsten

5 stars out of 5

Banana Guard

I have two of these and they are, frankly, inescapably amusing. Produce one from your bag at the office and watch as your colleagues dissolve into giggles. Suggestive shapes notwithstanding, bananaguards are wonderful things. I go to the gym every day, and often want to carry a banana with me as a snack, especially if I'm doing 2 or more hours. All I need to do is stuff the banana into the box, click it shut, and I know it'll be fine when I want to eat it - brilliantly simple and effective. I've only found one banana that wouldn't fit inside it (and it was of monstrous proportions anyway), which makes it even more clever :)

Published 27 May 2008

guard of honour!by Kate

5 stars out of 5

Banana Guard

ooh it's brilliant. Fits every single banana I can throw at it, and is the envy of my little boy's classmates. Added bonus: putting the skin back in the box means you don't have to scrape a smelly banana skin out of the bottom of a schoolbag at the end of the day if they can't find a bin. A small point but it makes me really happy.

Published 26 May 2008

Does what it says it does!by Cathy Bryant

5 stars out of 5

Banana Guard

I've just bought one for a friend as I'm so happy with mine. Pays for itself in edible bananas quite quickly! Recommended.

Published 24 May 2008

Disagreeby Emma

5 stars out of 5

Banana Guard

I disagree with the statement made previously. I purchased a banana case not so long ago and have yet to find a banana that does not fit in the case. I am very happy with this product and don't have any problems with it. In fact many people who have seen my banana case have brought one.

Published 09 May 2008

A poor fitby Mrs Baggus

1 stars out of 5

Banana Guard

I bought two of these banana protectors principally for my two boys. I was fed up of going on a day out only to find black and unedible bananas at the bottom of a bag. I thought they were expensive but would prove value for money as I wouldn't waste so many bananas. I am very disappointed. On the day the order arrived I had 3 bananas in the house, none of them fitted. I thought I'd wait until the weekend shop to finally see if I'd wasted my money. Out of the all the bananas I bought this weekend only one fits (and even then it requires squashing a little). I am very disappointed, especially in light of the claims it is 'designed to accomodate virtually every shape and size of banana'. I am going to be requesting to return this product.

Published 21 Apr 2008

A note from the team: We're sorry to hear the banana protectors weren't as expected. We'll be in touch shortly

Sorting options

Sort results

Your basket is currently empty